We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
301
181
79
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
301
181
79
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnotre dameroom was cleanhockey teamexcellent staywould definitely stay here againstaff was very friendlyfront desk stafftoll roadcomplimentary breakfastfresh fruitfull kitchenwafflesfootball gamelobbybendinnschicago
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 632 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

room 331
• mattress near window, box spring 18" tear along seam
• sheets not totally filthy, but NOT newly cleaned/laundered on either of the beds
• tub would drain but very slowly, requiring showering in ankle deep water

On the plus side:
• breakfast good

Room Tip: In all fairness, we arrived exhausted and without prior reservations and did not discover the room condition until we were unpacked. Yes, we should have raised Cain, but we did not. We have never had a Hampton room this bad, and maybe we got the prize. But do check your room carefully before any unpacking...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank KenM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notredamehampton, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest suite. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area

Kelly Tefft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been updated. Front desk staff was very friendly. The room on the 3rd floor was fine and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast room was large enough for a youth group present for an event along with the rest of us. There was the usual variety of food plus fresh fruit. Windows open so that one does not have that sealed-in feeling in the room. The carpeting is a bit dated, and the one elevator for so many rooms is a bit inconvenient when a lot of folks are checking in around the same time. Steps from the 3rd floor take one out of the building instead of into the first floor lobby, but that, of course, is no big deal (unless, I guess, there's a blizzard or heavy rain). When one gets off the toll road, take a left and head north for a bit since the hotel is about a mile or so above the exit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayw739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Greetings! Thank you for posting a review of our property! Feedback from our Guests is greatly appreciated and we love hearing from you. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to South Bend. This winter we will undergo a lobby and fitness center renovation, would be great for you to see the new set up. The new fabrics, furniture and flooring look fantastic!

Wishing you well!
Becky Turak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our suite was perfect and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful as well! I would definitely stay here again and am confident in choosing Hampton Inn & Suites again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! We love having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Wishing you well!
Becky Turak
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

On driving trips we book a Hampton anytime one is available. In this case I think there were several other less expensive options that would have been at least comparable. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast had variety. The staff was friendly and attentive. The property is a bit tired.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Traveler, We appreciate your feedback very much. Feedback is what offers us opportunities to acknowledge the positive and also learn where areas of opportunity and improvement are present. Our staff works hard to engage with each guest and be certain that All are welcomed and comfortable during their stay. We work hard to keep the property clean, tidy and welcoming. As our property ages, we realize that this gets a little more challenging. Please trust that we are doing everything we can to maintain the high quality product that Hampton goers are accustomed too. I am thrilled to share with you that we are in line for a full renovation. This winter 2012 we will be renovating and will have the new Perfect Mix Lobby, along with that our Fitness Center is being renovated and new fitness equipment is part of that as well. Following will be a full renovation of the remainder of the hotel. We are excited about these improvements and hope you will join us again soon to see the updates!

Wishing you well,
Becky Turak
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hampton Inn properties are under the Hilton umbrella but it sure rained hard on this one. The lobby carpet is filthy, the first room I was assigned didn't have a refrigerator and the second reeked of cigarette smoke. I complained of the smoke smell and was handed a can of air freshener. I've been a Hilton Diamond VIP member for years. Wish I had read the reviews before booking my stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Diamond Member, Please accept you apologies for the incorrect manner in which your issue was handled. We are addressing this situation with all of our Front Desk Agents to avoid this sceanrio in the future.

We work very hard each and everyday to maintain the cleanliness of our hotel. Carpets are cleaned weekly, and any stains that may appear are handled immediately.

We will be going through a full renovation of our hotel later this year and hope to be complete by the end of the first Quarter 2013. We will be a brand new property inside and out and encourage your return to the Hamton Inn & Suites South Bend.

Looking forward to your return to our hotel.
Best!
Becky Turak
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews