We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Buts Feels Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“OK Buts Feels Tired”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This property appears to be a very early designed/constructed Hampton or a Hampton rebranded from another hotel chain. Why? - the room types, location of ammenities (e.g. ice machines), the lobby layout and overall architecture are unlike the 35+ Hamptons we've stayed in the last 3 months. Not bad per se but it doesn't have the new, clean lines feel and flow of other Hamptons.

Our room was nice, very clean, with a comfortable bed. Overall we enjoyed our stay it just was different staying in a Hampton that didn't look like most other Hamptons. The breakfast . . . well I guess it was fine but we didn't eat except to grab a piece of fruit. One thing we learned is ALL the Hamptons serve the same items for breakfast day after day so we had our fill. Location is OK - right on a major road - but the hotel does sit back so road noise isn't prominent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Feedback is always appreciated and helps keep us on our toes! This summer we will begin a transformation of the hotel. Starting with our lobby and fitness center and then in the winter we will begin renovation of the rooms. We are very excited and look forward to having you back at our Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    162
    64
    34
    23
See reviews for
264
65
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed at the Quality Inn down the road my first night in town. That place was the biggest dump I've been to since my senior prom hotel! Changed over to the Hampton Inn for the rest of my stay in South Bend and what a world of difference! Sure it costs more, but I'll happily pay it if I can avoid bed bugs, dirty and smelly rooms, redneck bars in the lobby and a general feeling of dispair from the employees. The Hampton was clean, very comfortable and a hotel that I'll be staying at a lot more! When in South Bend, stay here!

Room Tip: Stay on second or third floor...less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teamhighnoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Not much to say since we were only there overnight. The hotel is handy to the University and to the highway. It is quiet. The staff were most accomodating when we wanted to change from a king room to two doubles. We did this because we have been having problems with the Hilton chain putting sheets and blankets on their king beds that are too small. So it may just be the room we were given but it didn't have a couch or chair, fridge or micro. However, we slept a lot better!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We love Hampton Inns, but this one was not quite up to par. The room was okay but looked like the bathroom floor and carpet had not been swept. Made me wonder what else had not been cleaned. The towels were very cleverly folded and arranged to give a festive appearance. The entry way and lobby were very well decorated and pleasant. The food at breakfast was good. The way the room was arranged, we had to move the coffee table in front of the couch because it blocked the path to the bathroom in the night. Would be better if it was on the other side of the bed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Very pleased with the customer service, amenities, room, cleanliness & food. The bed was very comfortable! The only downfall was the air in the room -- so dry! Overall, very pleased, though.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We loved everything about our stay. The beds and bedding were wonderful--best night's sleep we've had in a long time. Very clean and nicely appointed. Helpful front desk. Good hot breakfast served until 10:00 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dltrgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I brought a group of 10 year olds to celebrate our daughter's 10th birthday. The junior suite was the perfect size and layout for our group. The pool/spa area was clean, and the girls enjoyed the pool immensely. The breakfast was also nice, and there were plenty of choices to please a variety of tastes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris37535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 52709 Indiana State Route 933, US 31 North, South Bend, IN 46637-3244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
#5 Family Hotel in South Bend
#5 Business Hotel in South Bend
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Indiana hotel, where you'll find everything you need including complimentary in-room high-speed wireless internet access and On The House breakfast. We are located only 1 mile north of the University of Notre Dame and St. Mary's College and 2 miles north of Downtown South Bend, Indiana. The perfect choice for getaways or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel South Bend
Hampton Inn And Suites South Bend
Hampton Inn South Bend
South Bend Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing