We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real "Sleeper"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A real "Sleeper"”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We love this place and are always surprised that more people haven't "discovered" it. Great rooms, fabulous mattresses, all the "amenities" and the Price is Right! Unfortunately the restaurant is no longer open, but we went down Cleveland to a road (Prospect?) with plenty of the usuals (Applebee's, etc.)

If you're tired of Hamptons and so forth and you're in S.Bend, give this a whirl!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    48
    30
    30
See reviews for
87
41
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken , NY
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We really enjoyed the rooms very much , but upon arriving we learned there was no longer a restaurant or bar . That is the only reason we wanted this hotel was because it had a restaurant inside it , and we where told on the phone a week before arriving that there was one and it was open . Would give great rating , but i don't appreciate being lied to , so it only gets a alright rating .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbhferis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My daughter was attending the ND camp for Volleyball. We chose this place because brochures were sent to us with the camp information. I love this place. The entrance is welcoming and the rooms were just fine for our stay. The food was good. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was good. There was a wedding breakfast going on so they set it up in the pub and did a fine job. I imagine once they complete all of the renovations it will be fabulous. The outside pool needs attention. Landscape needs updating. The inside pool is good. But I will tell you when 10:00 pm comes around they close that pool. That was annoying when the employee stood outside the pool door staring us down until we all left. Give it a a try its nice.

  • Liked — the warm and coziness of the place
  • Disliked — How they KICK you out of the pool right at 10:00 pm
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna007_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

I booked a large block of rooms at the Waterford for an out of town wedding group. All of us have nothing but great things to say about our entire experience. Everytime that I needed to speak with the coordinator, Joy, I felt she was incredibly professional, kind, and helpful.
The outside of the hotel does not look like quite as nice as I expected, but the lobby, pools, rooms, and bar are beautiful and well appointed. The beds are incredibly comforable. We rented a room for our group on Fri night and it was very nice and large and the horderves that we ordered were delicious. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. They offered to give the gifts that I had purchased to each guest as they arrived and did not miss one. Different people in our group enjoyed the pool, the nice workout facility, the great breakfast, and, of course, the bar!
I will highly recommend this hotel to everyone who will be staying in the area (and I am not that easily impressed).

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

A friend and I shared a room here while in town 2 nights for a wedding. Initially we were impressed with the hotel's beauty - it is well-decorated and looks rather posh. Though I paid for the room when I booked through Expedia, I gave my debit card to the clerk in case, in his words, "you want to charge anything to your room." The hotel sprawled out in all directions (think "The Shining"), and the clerk provided us with a map, which was very necessary for us to make our way from our room to the front desk if we needed to. The first odd thing we noticed was the there was no elevator anywhere in this otherwise modern hotel. It wasn't a big deal, as the hotel was only 2 levels, but it was still a bit of a pain to haul our luggage to our 2nd floor room without any assistance.

Our room itself was also looked quite nice, and we flopped down on the beds - very comfortable. The room had a flat-screen TV set into the wall, and a Bose radio on a table in front of it. Everything looked great - until we turned the TV on and flipped through all 21 channels, and realized that we had to crank the volume on the TV up to 90 just to hear it over the air conditioner. We tried to order a movie through the TV, but the options never loaded. The Bose radio had no CD player or iPod jack, and the TV certainly was not wired through it, so it was wasted on the lackluster radio options available in South Bend. The air conditioner also lacked a constant fan setting, so it was tough to fall asleep. Just as you started to doze off, the AC would kick on, and just as soon as you got used to its roar, it would shut off.

The next morning we went downstairs to enjoy a great breakfast spread - eggs, sausage, french toast, etc. We were shocked by the options available, but a worker assured us that this was the breakfast served for the hotel guests. We ate quite happily, but were taken aback when one of the servers came over to offer us coffee...and a check. We told her we were under the impression it was complimentary, and she informed us that the breakfast was complimentary only with certain rooms. She was kind enough to take care of it for us, but had we known in advance, we wouldn't have come downstairs in our PJs sans cash.

We then went back to the room to get ready for the wedding. The bathroom is about the size of a closet, and you almost step into the toilet when stepping out of the shower, but it certainly wasn't terrible as far as hotel showers go. Upon returning from the wedding, I logged onto my laptop using the free WiFi (which worked great) to check my bank account - and found that the hotel had charged my account $200+, though the room was paid for. I called the front desk and the charge was removed that same night, only to reappear today, 2 days after I checked out. I called yet again, explained the situation, and was told that this was a fee charged to cover any possible damages to the room, and that the charge would be removed within 3-5 business days. I've stayed in numerous other hotels on my own, and the closest I can think of from any other stay is a $50 deposit refunded to me upon check-out. Had I known this hassle would ensue, I would not have handed my card over to the clerk so willingly, and the experience has certainly colored my memory of the stay.

The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool/jacuzzi, neither of which we had an opportunity to use, but both looked great, and the hotel itself is beautiful. The stay was not terrible or anything, but I guess we just expected more for the price - about $132/night - than what we got.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The card fiasco
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iluvpopsicls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Southern Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Reading these reviews tells me that I don't need to put all the details in, but there is one detail that I have to pass on and I think it says a lot.
I walked in on the maid washing the glasses in the bathroom sink. Honestly. i went out to her cart to see if she had glasses and cups on it, and found none at all. I asked at the front desk if this was the usual procedure, and the desk clerk said she honestly didn't know, but agreed with me that it was gross.
There were other things to complain about. Outdoor spa was filthy, TV picture was very distorted. Hotel restaurant service was terrible. But I may never drink out of a hotel glass again.

  • Liked — location, size of room
  • Disliked — problems discussed in review
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are newly renovated - nice decor and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is north of the university - not too far and very easy drive. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Newly renovated, clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Some rooms are difficult to get due to location of stairs.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Property: Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Address: 52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, in South Bend, this hotel is close to St. Mary's College, Hesburgh Library, and University of Notre Dame. Also nearby are Snite Museum and Basilica of the Sacred Heart. PLEASE NOTE: The indoor pool will be closed from July 27- August 7. Waterford Estates Lodge features an indoor/outdoor pool(seasonal) and spa. Other amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access. The Bend Pub & Grill is open for dinner Wednesday-Saturday starting at 4pm. Guestrooms have refrigerators,microwaves,air conditioning,and complimentary wireless Internet access. Minimum check-in age is 21. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend Hotel South Bend
Waterford Estate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing