We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay like a King” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richland, Michigan
1 review
“Stay like a King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just spent 3 days in a conference at the Inn at St Marys of South Bend. I got the room upgrade due to multiple stays in recent years. I was upgraded to a room that was special and spacious. I enjoyed my stay, the work out center was great. Top notch excersice equipment with a whirlpool make the Excersice center great.

Room Tip: Third floor Concierge level has the best rooms with secured entrance. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your recent stay. We truly appreciate knowing our guest’s experiences. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the new fitness equipment. We look forward to your return while visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    159
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
317
124
49
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great hotel across from the Notre Dame camps in South Bend. Boutique property in a sea of cookie cutter hotels in the area. It was also nice to have free SELF parking. The only other hotel in the area with any character now charges for parking and it's valet only. I hate that.

I stayed on the concierge level which has secured access and extra amenities in the room. The hotel's breakfast is free and pretty extensive. Food was good and the hotel expanded the seating area since my last visit. I didn't have time to get a drink the new lounge, but it looks nice and people there seemed to be enjoying themselves. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: They now offer points through the Stash Rewards program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value each guest, as we know it is your choice when deciding where to stay while visiting South Bend Indiana. We truly appreciate your feedback. Knowing about our guest’s experiences allows us to celebrate our successes and address our challenges. We look forward to all future return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rooms are very clean and staff was nice. Very nice breakfast with many hot foods along with cereals and pastries. Though very close to the toll road there is no road noise. The hotel shuttle
Is a nice feature to get to down town and to Notre dame campus. The lobby has nice comfortable seating and a nice little bar as well. Value or price is good but not over the top great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Management and staff are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations. We look forward to accommodating you during all future special parent weekends on campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Inn at St. Mary's, located on the edge of University of Notre Dame, is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the University. The Inn is perfectly located to enjoy all of the excitement of the football weekends at the University and indeed, welcomes fans by providing shuttle service to the games, (if you choose not to walk), a wonderful free breakfast to get you started, and a great huge bar and TV to enjoy post game discussions and relax after a day spent on campus. The rooms are lovely and the staff is very concerned with making your stay as perfect as possible. This is a warm, family friendly hotel that feels like an extension of the University.

Room Tip: We choose a room with the little living room and the pull out sofa for our family, so the kids have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our property. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is glad you were able to enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to making our property your home away from home while visiting The University of Notre Dame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn at Saint Mary's during a hockey tournament in South Bend. The Inn was lovely, clean and quaint. The location was perfect - a pleasant walk to the middle of Notre Dame Campus or a quick drive. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very nice with lots of selection. The sunny lobby was a great place to meet up with friends or relax with a drink watching some football. My sons appreciated the free wireless wifi throughout. I would definitely recommend staying here while in beautiful South Bend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD_on_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent visit to our property. The Inn at Saint Mary's has prime location to all University of Notre Dame events. We are glad you enjoyed the new lounge area. The complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel is always a huge hit with children! Also, thank you for all of your future recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed several times at this hotel while visiting our daughter at U of Notre Dame and it is always a pleasure to be greeted by the staff which makes you feel like they know you and you belong there. Nice, clean rooms and good breakfast. Very quaint and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend it if you are in the Notre Dame area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and stay at The Inn at Saint Mary's. We strive to make our property your home away from home while visiting your daughter. The staff looks foward to all of your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I could echo others comments about staying at the Inn for a football weekend. The hotel is clean, friendly and offers a great breakfast. They are all about the football game and set a great atmosphere. The new "pub" is definitely a Plus. My biggest complaint would be the bed was slightly uncomfortable. I have a bad back and really need a solid firm mattress, which this was not. But my wife didn't complain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMack127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. The Inn at Saint Mary's is all about supporting Notre Dame football on game weekends! The recent renovations of the lounge were an added addition to making the football weekend great. The next phase of renovations will include updating the guest rooms and furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing