We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently good service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here during previous football week-ends with great success. The service and ambience continues to be excellent. The hotel has added a pub type bar in the main entry room which appears to be very successful. Great area to discuss game statistics with the added flat screen TVs. Our room was basic and was listed as Non-smoking, however, the room did have a strong smoker smell. The room was very clean, very comfortable bed, and very quiet. The air conditioner unit was a little disturbing. The included breakfast was varied daily and very well done. Great service and guests were very friendly. All in all --very peasant experience and will definitely return for another great week-end.

Room Tip: Check smoker/non smoker rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to stay with. We are pleased that our new addition of the bar and renovations of the Lobby have made your stay with us more enjoyable and accommodating. There were issues you encountered during your stay and be assured that we are working with the maintenance and housekeeping staff to correct these issues to further accommodate your next visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    164
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
334
129
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good vibe when you walk into the hotel- the foyer is open and inviting. The front desk staff (Sarah) was very accommodating and made sure we had adjoining rooms for our family. The breakfast was not your run-of-the-mill included breakfast. It was much better with omelettes, waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, sausage, oatmeal, bacon, etc.- a real treat for the entire family.

The rooms were very clean. The best part was how close it was to Notre Dame and how you could avoid the hassle of trying to park your car on campus. You could actually walk to ND (20 minute walk) but the hotel had a free shuttle that dropped us off behind the library in the middle of the ND campus. Also, the ND bus system (the "sweep" bus) stops at the hotel area and costs only $1 buck and runs basically every 30 minutes or so and drops you off at 3 different locations on the ND campus. Great options for the back and forth.

The Fairfield Inn and newly renovated Morris Inn are certainly closer and more convenient no question. But my search going forward will also include the Inn at St. Mary's as its shuttle, the terrific included breakfast and the price point may tip the scales its favor on any given visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Inn at Saint Mary’s hotel to stay with. We were delighted to hear that our complimentary shuttle service served as a great benefit during your visit. We are also pleased to hear that our hot breakfast buffet was enjoyable to you and your family as well. We are honored to be one of the very few hotel‘s in this area that provide both of these benefits along with a variety of other amenities. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Recently stayed on this somewhat dated hotel located a 20 minutes walk off campus and would not stay here again. Had to stay here as the Morris Inn was closed.

The front desk staff sure try hard but the place needs a major over-haul.

Rooms are big but have not been renovated in sometime. Uncomfortable bed with a loud air conditioning unit in the room that had to be shut off at night as it was directly under the window shades which moved up and down if the unit was on.

Housekeeping was terrible. Other than making the bed came back to a room with blinds still closed (left early each morning). They left towels on the floor and there was food in my fridge when I arrived which was still there when I left.

Stopped by the Morris Inn which is right on campus and has been beautifully renovated. Will stay there next year for my annual trip. Murph is still tending the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is scheduled to begin room renovations now that our lobby renovations are done. I am interested in discussing all of your feedback with you. Please contact me at showell@innatsaintmarys.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is our second time visiting Inn at Saint Mary's. Our first visit we left and sent the Manager a disappointing review on the quality of the room. Pretty much everything in our room was broken. This stay we were offered an upgrade and upon arrive were not given upgrade. When I made my reservation almost 7 months ago for our 2nd stay, I requested a king room but was given a double upon arrival. When I made the reservation for our 2nd stay, I had to prepay for a min. stay of 2 nights. The prepaid rate was $100 more a night compared to any other weekend in the year because it was Notre Dame and Saint Mary's College move in weekend. Check-in is slow and it seems the staff are not trained. Manager last night at front desk in red shirt was not at all professional to any quest. This is a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Good luck getting any room you ask for. Not sure what the secret is! They are holding ND and SMC par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagotennisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is does have a policy of room contracts for special event dates. The rates are based upon the market. The staff is undergoing training changes to better accommodate guest in the future. All feedback from your visit is welcomed please contact me directly at showell@innatsaintmarys.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
475 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've reached a point in life where I have few expectations considering all the disappointments I've experienced in hotels. The Inn At Saint Mary's was a wonderful surprise - warm, friendly, welcoming, inviting, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We enjoyed complimentary drinks before going next door to dinner at The Bistro, and our night was simply perfect...........great bed, well-thought-out room and bathroom design. We will look forward to staying at the Inn again and will recommend it to all our friends!

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad one in this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Saint Mary’s hotel to stay with. We are pleased that we could provide you with the friendliness of our staff members as well as clean and comfortable hotel accommodations. It was our pleasure to offer you complimentary drinks that are provided with the concierge level rooms. We are looking forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

When I was in south bend Indiana on the first weekend in August for the Indiana district of Kiwanis international district convention. I loved my room. The staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel to my friends the next time there in south bend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn at Saint Mary’s Hotel. We are greatly pleased that our friendly staff was able to accommodate you and make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for just a one night stay. Front desk was very helpful and speedy. Our room was on the first floor, close to the breakfast area/reception area but was very quiet. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean. We had one of the suites and it was perfect to grab Chinese food from just a mile away and eat in the little 'living room area'. There is a mini fridge and microwave to store any leftovers/make pop popcorn. I had breakfast smells greeting me in the morning and the hot breakfast options included: eggs, cottage cheese, biscuits/gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt, coffee, milk and juice. Nice place in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelagentOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our property. The Inn at Saint Mary’s offers a variety of suites and complimentary hot breakfast buffet to each guest. Being located in the heart of both campuses the scenery is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's
Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing