We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience to Notre Dame is its Major Selling Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in the Inn one night during our daughter's recent freshman orientation for the University of Notre Dame. The lobby area is great, and the front desk staff were welcoming. Warm cookies and coffee are always a nice touch in a hotel lobby. We had booked a king suite which was big enough to accommodate my husband and me and our daughter, although not overly generous in its size or amenities. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the sofa bed which my daughter slept on was only adequate, which seems typical for sofa bed sleep experiences.

We had breakfast in the morning, and it was the usual breakfast room fare. It was very, very crowded, and the staff seemed to be struggling to keep up with replenishing a few of the key items like the coffee.

One of the biggest attractions to the hotel is its proximity to the Notre Dame campus. It's just down the street from one of the entrances to the university. Since my daughter is just starting out in college, there is a good chance we will return to the Inn, but its relatively high proces coupled with very standard rooms and amenities will cause us to think twice about other hotel options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very interested in speaking with you personally to ensure your next visit is extraordinary. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 886 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We often stop in this area, but it's the first time we have stayed at this hotel. We had a spacious king suite with a sitting room, nicely decorated and comfortable. Nice breakfast, very conveniently located close to the interstate. We had an AARP rate, which was quite reasonable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the king suite, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

The Inn is pleased your first stay was wonderful. Our location and complimentary breakfast are just two of our great features. We look forward to all of your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our first stay at the the Inn after many years of visiting Notre Dame. It was a perfect week-end starting with our room which was clean, spacious, and quiet. The bed was comfy and the breakfast was very adequate and tasty. The best was the ambiance and friendliness of the staff including the concierge who was very helpful. WE took a shuttle to the game and walked back after the game, very conve We would definitely recommend the Inn and will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The staff is always available to assist guest. With all of the excitement during a football game weekend we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next football season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Front desk was very helpful with information about area. Room was comfortable. The mattress probably was at the end of its life. My husband kept rolling towards the middle. Air conditioning was great. We stayed here 5 years ago and I knew I wanted to go back when we traveled to South Bend. The breakfast was the best free breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and more. On Wednesday night they had free bar-b-que, hamburgers and hot dogs. The food service area was kept very clean and there was no waiting for buffet to be filled. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2njoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your repeat business. The Inn works very hard maintaining the property. The mattresses are on the radar to be upgraded. We are pleased you were able to experience breakfast and the complimentary bar-b-que. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were on our way to Green Bay WI. and made this Inn our Stopping point, after reading reviews on this site. It did not disappoint at all. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Thre front desk clerk by the name of Justin checked us in. He went over all the complimentary things that came with our stay,but I was honestly to tired to pay attention to him. My Family and I were starving, so I went back to Justin and asked him if he knew of a good place to eat in town..He had a binder full of menu's and offered to make a copy of his favorite spot for us. he did remind me that there was a complimentary cookout tonight from 5-7 pm (because i did not pay attention the first time). All you can eat burgers and hotdogs plus a bunch of other goodies , I'm in!!!!!! Breakfast was awesome too!!! Bacon , eggs, and waffles oh my!!!! Definetly will be coming back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rezendezfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

The Inn is pleased you were able to experience all of our food options. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable of the area and our property. They will always guide you with any needs you may have while visiting. We look forward to all of your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My SO and I stayed here because of an Avanti Car show in South Bend in August, 2012. I think it was suppoed to be a 4*** but in my opinion it was a 3***. They did have breakfast included; but the breakfast room was real small. No pool, you could use the Hilton's next door, but it was an indoor pool and when it is 95o you don't want the indoor pool. Also, the A/C in the hallways and lobby was always too warm. And there was no restaurant on property and a real SMALL bar. I did like the smoke-free atmosphere. It was a clean hotel and the rate was good because of the car show, but someone checked in ahead of us and there rate was 2-1/2 times our rate; which was way to much.

Room Tip: Check rates before going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, General Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We truly enjoyed hosting the Avanti Car Owner's group as well as the cars that filled our parking lot. We are happy so many of the guests enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, but agree the room became crowed at times. We added several tables to our lobby area and opened the lounge area to help accomodate the guests. It was a very hot week and an indoor pool would have been ideal. This is an issue the hotel is looking at. We do hope you will stay with us on your next visit to South Bend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We travel to Notre Dame yearly for a competition and our group chose this hotel this year. It was very clean and nice. The staff was friendly (even after days of all of us being there) and accomodating. We had an issue with the people next door being very loud and they changed our room for us right away. Our new room had an older A/C unit which did not function very well so we were warm but chose that over the noise from the inconsiderate guests.
Breakfast was good each morning, a lot of variety. It was kind of a hassle to use the pool at the Hilton next door but not that horrible since my kids are older.
I love the location!!! If you are attending an event at ND, this is prime for location and close to food choices.
We would definitely stay again! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chellis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

The Inn at Saint Mary’s is glad were able to accommodate your group. The front desk staff works hard to satisfy every guest. Our location and breakfast are key amenities the hotel offers to guest. We look forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's

Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $106 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a boutique South Bend hotel, we at the Inn at Saint Mary's strive to provide our guests with specials and packages designed to provide the most memorable, unique experiences during your visit with us. With our serene location, surrounded by campus greens and luxurious amenities including INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbuck's beverages and our Atrium Lounge with cleverly mixed cocktails. Offering packages that will appeal to and delight even the most discriminating South Bend traveler. Book your experience with us today! Located in historic South Bend, Inn at Saint Mary's is nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. From the moment you arrive at our luxurious boutique hotel via our complimentary airport shuttle, you'll admire our South Bend hotel's unique and stunning lobby … a treat for the senses, featuring soaring ceilings, curved walls. The newly opened INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbucks beverages. INNJoy café is open daily at 6am and includes freshly baked pastries and scrumptious sandwich among other culinary delights. Our Atrium Lounge opens daily at 5 pm with local brews, regional wines, and smartly crafted cocktails, and iPad stations. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 150 nonsmoking rooms and suites - some with private Jacuzzis and personalized concierge service. Unwind in your luxurious South Bend hotel guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing