We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very civilized and very clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I will now look forward to business trips to South Bend as I have found a very comfortable, clean and nice place to stay. Someone said the rooms had a strange layout. Mine wasn't odd at all. Just very spacious and very similar to a newer Embassy Suites. This is a great property.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Inn is looking forward to all of your futures stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 890 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2011

I was expecting a lot more-got a suite. It was a weird room layout. It seemed a little worn and unimpressive. The complimentary breakfast, however was the best I ever had at a hotel. Staff was nice about faxing for me. The business center was clogged with young people playing games or facebook.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washingtonholly3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. our duites are currently in the next phase of our renovation process. Please check back with us for updates. This time of year the hotel is filled with families with children visiting for the holidays. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused in the business center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having a Medical Procedure at Memorial Hospital and recieving the Inns rate for that helped me out financially in a tough time. The Desk personell were excellent and professional and the room was absoluely spotless and roomy. You should be very proud of what you have at your Inn.
Michael C Walsh
5833 Lincoln ave
Stevensville Mi 49127

Room Tip: Any room at Inn At St Mary's is a wonderful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 521Michael1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

The Inn at Saint Mary’s works with local businesses to negotiate a reasonable rate for all parties involved. We are glad that your stay was comfortable for you during your procedure. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

First, the staff here is exceptional. Second, this property you see upon setting foot on the propoerty is trying to give the feel of a country inn. What it is is a 3 star property in a college town and it probably gets abused 8 weekends each fall. It just can't escape that relaity. It is good for what it is, just don't expect more than it is. Good location, family friendly, large rooms, and not fancy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are happy you enjoyed the staff at the Inn at Saint Mary’s who work hard at exceeding our guests expectations. We are continually updating our property and the last renovation was the beginning of 2011. We are in a college town and because of our reputation and exceptional service we have a steady stream of guests year round. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for a conference and they could not have been more helpful. I arrived very late after all food closed and the front desk clerk got me a glass of milk to go with my peanut butter and jelly sandwich. The access from the highway was so easy even late at night. There was shuttle service to and from my conference on the Notre Dame campus.
Room was very comfortable, with free wifi and a nice bench/couch for watching TV. Aveda bath products a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

The Inn at Saint Mary’s is designed for any traveler. The front desk staff is always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty for our guests. We look forward to accommodating you for all of your future stays in South Bend. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our check-in was very friendly and efficient, a nice start to our stay. We booked a king room and it was big, clean and very nicely decorated. The furniture was comfortable, which is usually not the case in most hotels. The small couch/sleeper sofa was firm to sit on to watch television or read, the desk chair was a good one for work and the extra armchair was very comfortable, too.
But....the bed was a bit lumpy and we did not get a very good night's sleep. It is sometimes hard to tell when sitting on a bed if it will be comfortable for sleeping. And that was the case with this one. Not much that you can do once you are in bed for the night. So, we tossed and turned a bit all night because of the bed. But....the real problem we had was with the heater/AC unit. Why oh why do modern hotels still use those outdated window units? They are always noisy, go off and on all night and if your room is hot or cold you need to use it to sleep. But because of all the racket this one made, it was very difficult to sleep! It certainly changed our stay from very nice to just average. A real disappointment, since they do so much right here.

We would love to go back to this hotel(we are in the area often), but not sure that we would due to the lack of sleep/noise.

The breakfast room was pretty and the food was decent. The lobby was lovely and a nice place to unwind. Each employee that we spoke to was kind and helpful. We did not mention the noise problem because with those window units, there is not much they could have done.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property. The hotel rooms have recently been remodeled with new furniture. We are glad that you were pleased with our selections. Unexpectedly you did have trouble sleeping and I would like to apologize for that inconvenience. We are unable to access your contact information due to the volume of bookings so I cannot make direct contact. I am very interested in speaking with you to resolve this matter. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We visited during a Notre Dame football weekend. This was our first stay, so we were not sure what to expect. Happily, all of our expectations were surpassed. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the facility was well organized and professional. Plus the location was ideal for our activities. If you can get a reservation, we would recommend.

Room Tip: view the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

The Inn at Saint Mary’s is pleased you enjoyed your stay. Notre Dame Football weekends are filled with a lot of fun. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's

Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $105 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a boutique South Bend hotel, we at the Inn at Saint Mary's strive to provide our guests with specials and packages designed to provide the most memorable, unique experiences during your visit with us. With our serene location, surrounded by campus greens and luxurious amenities including INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbuck's beverages and our Atrium Lounge with cleverly mixed cocktails. Offering packages that will appeal to and delight even the most discriminating South Bend traveler. Book your experience with us today! Located in historic South Bend, Inn at Saint Mary's is nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. From the moment you arrive at our luxurious boutique hotel via our complimentary airport shuttle, you'll admire our South Bend hotel's unique and stunning lobby … a treat for the senses, featuring soaring ceilings, curved walls. The newly opened INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbucks beverages. INNJoy café is open daily at 6am and includes freshly baked pastries and scrumptious sandwich among other culinary delights. Our Atrium Lounge opens daily at 5 pm with local brews, regional wines, and smartly crafted cocktails, and iPad stations. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 150 nonsmoking rooms and suites - some with private Jacuzzis and personalized concierge service. Unwind in your luxurious South Bend hotel guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing