We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for the Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Summer”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I am sure the rates for this hotel skyrocket during Notre Dame Football season, but for our summer visit it was a great value. The rooms are spacious and the afternoon snack (brownies) and morning breakfast was great. Can't beat value and quality of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostVacationAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Director of Sales at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious room and found great value in our product. While we offer the full hot breakfast buffet daily, during the summer months it is typical for us to host a cookout on Wednesday evenings. We like to thank our guests for selecting our facility when there are so many hotels to choose from. Our belief is the personal touch we offer is rarely extended at a chain hotel which is why we have built such loyalty with our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to accommodate you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    162
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
322
126
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast buffet was as expected, hot and cold choses. Plenty of parking. There are two sinks, one in the bathroom and one in the room.
Very handy. No mini fridge. Overall a very pleasant experience for both the business and personal traveler.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35805HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The breakfast buffet is a great way for our guest to start their day. We are glad that you experienced one of our variety of suites that we have. The Inn will like to be able to accommodate you on business and personal travel trips. We hope to accommodate you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Inn at St. Mary's is an excellent value. We stayed two nights. Friendly staff. Rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Great free breakfast. Fresh hot cookies and some fruit at the front desk. Free WiFi. Excellent fitness room. No hotel shuttle. A few restaurants within walking distance but not a huge selection. We were in town for business without our own transportation. Restaurant selection would be much better if you have a car. I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Get the king suite if you can. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hwkrdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Inn does have a complimentary airport shuttle. The shuttle will also accommodate area restaurant service as well. Please inquire at the front desk for this service. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

On a tour of colleges for my high school son, this hotel was our last of 4 in different cities and the best. When I booked, I looked online but ended up booking with the hotel as the AAA rate was better than online (I am an AAA member). When I got here, I think they upgraded me as in the confirmation there was no microwave or refrig, and the room we were booked into was huge, clean, had a micro, fridge, table for 4, business desk - really big. The bathroom was fine, although the toilet leaked (in the bowl, not outside). This was not a big deal. Lots of TV channels, which I did not find at other hotels. The exercise room was large and nice - there is a lovely hot tub and sauna but no pool. There is a free hot breakfast, which came in handy with a 17-year old boy (we did not have that at the 2 previous hotels and I had to scramble to get him fed!). There is also brownies and fruit bowls in the lobby. The towels were the best ever (very thick and soft) and the beds were comfey although the pillows were not great. Location is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoyaalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Our Full hot breakfast is a great amenity. We want your stay to begin well and end exceptionally. We look forward to being your home away from home when your son chooses to attend school here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The location on the St. Mary's campus and across from the Notre Dame campus and just far enough off the toll way makes this an excellent overnight stay. We always try to make time for a stroll around the St. Mary's campus and a visit to the Notre Dame bookstore.

Room Tip: Ask for even number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaciercb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.The Inn is conveniently located on Saint Mary's campus and across the street from Notre Dame. At this time of the year (with all of the flowers blossoming;) both of the colleges are gorgeous. If your coming back into the area soon keep in mind we have a Wednesday night cookout for our guest that you may take part in. As always we look forward to your future stays at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Inn provides a low key but high quality option in the South Bend area. While it is a popular option for wedding parties, we found it perfect for our foursome for a 4 day golf trip to South Bend. The breakfast buffet was great, the rooms were nearly immaculate and comfortable, the free drink ticket per person per night were a welcome bonus as were the chocolate chip cookies in the evening. We had a suite and a regular room and both were in perfect working order and kept spotless during our stay. The free internet was also quite welcome. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! The cookies are a huge hit and people are really upset when we don't have them. :) The breakfast buffet is a great way for our guest to start their day off right. Our rooms just recently were renovated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the changes.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to accommodate you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My significant other and I were recently visiting South Bend as we will be moving there soon-- we stayed at a different hotel for the first few nights, but then we extended our stay and changed hotels to the Inn at Saint Mary's. Our experience there was *far* better than our experience with the other hotel in South Bend (that had equally as good ratings, similar price range, etc.). When we told the person at the front desk we would be moving here, she immediately gave us some helpful information about the area, a map, and things to do. Our room at this hotel was much bigger than it was at the other, the breakfast buffet was better than the continental breakfast offered by the other, the shampoo, conditioner, etc. in the bathroom was better (Aveda products at the Inn at Saint Mary's, Pantene at the other), and even the coffee provided in the hotel room was better.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FutureNDStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the comfort of the Inn at Saint Mary's. The desk will always be available to answer any questions about the area that you may have before you make that big move. We stive to be the hotel away from home and we are pleaseed that you have found us. Thank you for all of your kind words and we look forward to future visits before and after your final move to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
283 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing