We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn South Bend
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our youth hockey team stayed here while in town for a tournament Jan 11-13, 2013. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We rented the game room as a place for the kids on the team to hang out and bond. The sport court was great for some team activities, too. The staff was professional, courteous and accomodating - they even set up the hot breakfast at 5am because we had a 7am hockey game on Sunday. Fantastic weekend - hope we can stay here next time we come to town for a tourney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher T, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to be able to host your team for the weekend. I'm glad to see that you were able to utilize some of the many amenities that our facility has to offer and that you were comfortable. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived in the early evening on a snowy night during Christmas break (the hotel is located relatively close to the Notre Dame campus) and the accommodations were perfect for us. A gas fireplace, a comfortable warm bed, and a full kitchen to dine in on our food we carried in. Our critters loved it and we all had an excellent evening. A nice breakfast rounded out the trip. Quiet, nice property set up nearly identical to several Residence Inns we've stayed in. Sometimes predictability is a good thing; it was here. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have alot to carry, ask for a room on the first (ground) floor to avoid going up and down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlhdjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher T, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn South Bend. I am delighted to hear that you (and your critters) enjoyed your stay with us. I'm certainly glad that you experienced the consistent service and accomodations that you have come to expect from Residence Inns. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This property is certainly not worth the price. Located in a residential neighborhood. No shops or restaurants nearby. Outdoor pool, so closed most of the year. We stayed in a duplex that offered no privacy. Sleeping area is simply part of the main room. Same thing with loft. Not even a door. For the rates this place charges, I expected much more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just had two nights here and as mentioned in other reviews it’s an older Residence Inn but they keep it up well. The location is very quiet as it’s blended into a half residential/ half commercial area, but the drawback is there is nothing close to walk to if you want to step out for dinner. Many good choices are about 5-10 min away so it’s not too far to find something, just not right at hand.

The staff was very nice, and the morning breakfast was of the standard quality of the Courtyard/Residence Inn chain. Sleep quality was great, the workout room needs some work and is very limited. Overall not bad, but if they implemented the recent upgrades for the RI’s it could be great.

Room Tip: Watch out, the steets to the hotel are not well marked or well lit at night. It's on the east si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

May want upper floor because kids running on upper floor can be heard on lower level. Has swimming pool, pool table and worout room. Quiet area surrounded by trees. Better than average breakfats, included with room. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Don't go on Saturday when Notre Dame home game. Prices double and triple normal rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Close to notre dame, 20-30 min walk.
Rooms are older , have signs of rowdy football pre-game wear. Suites are smaller size. Old residence inn design. No door separating bed from living room area. Can't watch tv in bed without moving tv 180'. Small bathroom. Linens are cheap and plastic. (assume for easy party clean up)
Only queen beds, no kings. Lobby and breakfast are average. Great for kids. Decent, clean pool, swing set and slide, basketball hoop, game room with billiards. Kitchen very average, found old food in fridge, would not trust using the glassware. Can hear everything upstairs. Would b a rip off for $550/night notre dame football weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckijz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was awesome! The people were nice, helpful and very kind to us. We have stayed there two years in a row. I stayed with my mom, my friends and their mom and has been amazing every time! Your money and time will be worth it!! Try to get a room on the top floor though. A lot less noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danctwir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
1.6 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
886 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.9 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#6 of 30 in South Bend
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn South Bend

Address: 716 N Niles Ave, South Bend, IN 46617-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $118 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn South Bend is located off US-31/933, and offers an ideal location just a half mile Northeast of Downtown South Bend and one mile Southwest of the University of Notre Dame. This great location also offers easy access to the Notre Dame Campus and Eddy Street Commons. Guests staying at this pet-friendly South Bend hotel enjoy the free breakfast buffet, an outdoor pool and sport court, and complimentary social hour on select evenings. Guest rooms are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms and are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, and fully-equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances. The Residence Inn South Bend offers the perfect amenities and excellent service to make it one of the top hotels in South Bend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn South Bend Hotel South Bend
South Bend Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing