We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice week long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week of training. Nice staff. Rooms cleaned good everyday. Parking garage nice and secure. Pool and hot tub nice. Lounge and resturant nice. Rooms are comfy and updated. Seems to be nicest downtown hotel. Dont expect much nightlife downtown it closes up after 5:00 pm it seems. But was in safer updated part of downtown. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47201traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 887 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel's atrium location is subpar due to the echoing of noise in the large open area. The room itself was on the small side and the beds were full size, I prefer queen size due to my height and weight. My feet were off the bed and I felt cramped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. Please accept my apology about the problem you experienced with the noise from an event in the hotel. Your complete satisfaction is our goal. Please feel free to contact me directly at 574-245-7259 if I can be of assistance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was one of the better experiences I've had lately. I like the Doubletree brand, but this hotel exceeds the norm. This hotel takes care of everything, from shuttles to supplying a phone charger. Great fitness facility, convenient location. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Impressive hotel. Very clean and professional staff. Full restaurant and bar which was nice when arriving late and hungry. Great fitness center and Starbucks for early AM coffee! Perfect for business or trip to Notre Dame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel is very nice and it was a great deal for the price we paid. However this hotel hosts weddings so if you're planning on getting sleep inquire about a room not off the atrium. Otherwise the pool is nice, the room are great. It's in a very central location so that was helpful as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were told at check in that there was a wedding being held at the hotel during our stay. Nothing futher. The night of the wedding the noise was unbearable until the early morning hours. we are Hilton honors members and owners and genrally we don't complain, especially about a wedding ceremony, but the hotel is connected by a glass enclosure to the main dining/banquet hall. This causes the noise to be exponentially worse from that particular side of the hotel. I know that we were told at check in about the wedding but nobody prepared us for the incredible noise. We were moving out daughter into college and we had very busy and strenuous days. We looked forward to a good night sleep but that didn't happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate the insight you provided regarding your recent stay at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the trouble you had sleeping due to the noise. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to improve upon our services. Your patronage and complete satisfaction is extremely important to us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person, and the chance to make amends. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here at the Doubletree for the opening game of Notre Dame vs Temple U. We were welcomed by a super friendly young lady in a Notre Dame jersey with the famous warm, fresh chocolate chip cookies. Check in was a breeze. The hotel seems like it's had a very recent re-do, with brand new carpets in the hallways etc. The hotel is very modern and in downtown South Bend. Breakfast was very good and they provided a free shuttle to the football game. My only complaint was that parking was not free at $9 a night. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel while attending the Notre Dame football game. So glad that you enjoyed our warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie upon arrival. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft South Bend
Aloft South Bend
#16 of 30 in South Bend
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
1.6 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Address: 123 N Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $123 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 6,000 square feet of meeting space onsite, and an additional 150,000 square feet located in the adjacent Century Center Convention Complex, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton is South Bends premier hotel for meetings and events. This 295 room luxury hotel is conveniently located in downtown South Bend within minutes of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College, and the College Football Hall of Fame. As the only full service Hilton Hotel in South Bend, you can expect the highest level of service that is synonymous with the name Hilton. Enjoy spectacular views of the St. Joseph River along with easy walking to many of South Bends most popular attractions. Our onsite dining features locally inspired dishes that are sure to satisfy even the most discriminating critic. Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, The DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton South Bend will meet the mark every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Bend
South Bend Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing