We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Nearby Hotels
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morris Inn(South Bend)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn South Bend(South Bend)(Great Value!)
$95
$80
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
438
273
120
57
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
273
120
57
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeparking garageriver viewcentury centerjoseph rivergreat hotelconvention centercookiesart museumwedding receptionwithin walking distancenotre damebreakfast buffetnice roombusiness tripnice stayfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
769 - 774 of 910 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were told at check in that there was a wedding being held at the hotel during our stay. Nothing futher. The night of the wedding the noise was unbearable until the early morning hours. we are Hilton honors members and owners and genrally we don't complain, especially about a wedding ceremony, but the hotel is connected by a glass enclosure to the main dining/banquet hall. This causes the noise to be exponentially worse from that particular side of the hotel. I know that we were told at check in about the wedding but nobody prepared us for the incredible noise. We were moving out daughter into college and we had very busy and strenuous days. We looked forward to a good night sleep but that didn't happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate the insight you provided regarding your recent stay at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the trouble you had sleeping due to the noise. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to improve upon our services. Your patronage and complete satisfaction is extremely important to us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person, and the chance to make amends. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here at the Doubletree for the opening game of Notre Dame vs Temple U. We were welcomed by a super friendly young lady in a Notre Dame jersey with the famous warm, fresh chocolate chip cookies. Check in was a breeze. The hotel seems like it's had a very recent re-do, with brand new carpets in the hallways etc. The hotel is very modern and in downtown South Bend. Breakfast was very good and they provided a free shuttle to the football game. My only complaint was that parking was not free at $9 a night. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel while attending the Notre Dame football game. So glad that you enjoyed our warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie upon arrival. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The central location of this hotel was perfect for our recent trip to a football game. The hotel itself is an average Doubletree. Nice enough, but didn't blow me away. Disappointed at not receiving the additional HHonors check-in amenities I requested, and I know that my husband missed the classic Doubletree cookies--nowhere to be found. Did not feel any employees really went the extra mile or cared that we were longtime and frequent Hilton customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. We are pleased that you found our central location to be convenient; however, regret that we did not create a rewarding experience for you. We appreciate your feedback, as it will assist in training and improving upon our services. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you on your next visit to South Bend. Please contact me personally if I may be of assistance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Family trip to Note Dame Football game with my grandsons and sons in law was a great trip until I lost my wallet. Staff was very helpful in trying to locate and return it but I had left on car roof, it fell off a block from the hotel and a good citizen of Notre Dame returned it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. We are so glad to hear that your wallet was found and returned to you. We are pleased that you and your grandson enjoyed our hotel and the Notre Dame football game. Hope to see you again soon. Go Irish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In 1984 this property began as a Marriott Hotel and for many years this was the best hotel in South Bend. We stayed there back then and enjoyed our visits.
The newly renovated Doubletree by Hilton is slowly emerging as the top dog once again.
The rooms are completely redone. Lots of granite and comfy beds, sheets and pillows along with all new lighting and furniture.
The front desk personnel are friendly and efficient. The maintenance staff and support staff are helpful. We had an AC leak and a bad TV but they were replaced without delay.
The pool and hot tub area has been remodeled and is very nice. The only caveat would be that sometimes the pool is a kid magnet, so arrive early.
The buffet breakfast is very extensive, with an omelet station.
This property is now among the top three in town.The building is still unique after all these years
and does not appear dated. The views of the St. Joe river are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree in South Bend. We are glad that you like our extensive renovation and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to be a part of the growth and excitement in downtown South Bend. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews