We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed renovation is underway, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Needed renovation is underway, very nice staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wen I checked in I saw the sign saying renovation was underway. I got a room on the 7th floor. Although sizeable, the furniture reminded me of Grandma's house in the 70's. Let's just say that the bed was long past it's usable life and a temporary "repair" had been made. I went back to the desk and requested a room that had already been renovated. They appologized, explained the property had recently been purchased, and gave me a new room that was like new and very nicely appointed. Location is great, close to several nice eateries and the college football hall of fame. Staff was friendly and very responsive.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. As noted, we are in the middle of our renovation and I am pleased you were able to enjoy one of our new rooms. I will share your comments about our staff so they can understand good service is recognized. . Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to having you visit the DoubleTree by Hilton, the next time you are in South Bend.

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    243
    100
    50
    12
See reviews for
239
107
30
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Likw most folks...up there for the game. Rooms were nice, clean. Staff pleasant. Parking easy and best of all shuttles back and forward all day. They had a couple of average on site areas to eat but there is o shortage of other eateries....that also have an on site Starbucks which is a plus. Overal, great location, decent room, a little dated but worth the price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishCreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. . Your comments about our dated looking rooms will be addressed when we complete our renovation. We look forward to you enjoying our new rooms on your next visit.

Chris Johnson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently stayed with a group of friends at this Hotel for a Notre Dame game weekend and we were all very pleased with our stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle to campus and back starting an hour and half after the game ends. We stayed on a floor that had just re-opened after renovations (in fact it reopened the same afternoon we checked in) and found the new rooms to be very well done. A lot of the complaints that previous people have commented on about the rooms and bathroom have been addressed by the renovations. We look forward to staying here again next year.

Room Tip: On ND game weekends, it is worth the extra money to stay on the Executive Club level. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Yes, you were the first guest to stay on that floor; we did open that floor or the first football game. Your comments about the renovation are appreciated and we look forward to having you visit the DoubleTree by Hilton, South Bend and Notre Dame again.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business travel. The staff was extremely friendly and greeted me with a smile. However, I was disappointed in my room. The room was outdated. The couch and chair had a lot of stains. The timer in the bathroom was very loud. The carpet did not appear vacuumed. The beds were comfortable. I probably would not choose this hotel at my next trip to a South Bend. The eating area was in the middle of all the construction. The onsite restaurant food was ok but nothing to brag about.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Always travelin... Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Hotel guest:
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff at the DoubleTree by Hilton, South Bend. Please let me apologize for the difficulties and inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As you noted our restaurant is under renovation, in addition we are in the process of renovating all guest rooms. We realize that you have a choice in hotel properties and hope you will choose the DoubleTree by Hilton, South Bend for your next visit; to see our improvement.

Sincerely, Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Old rooms, with moldy shower curtains and a 1980's entertainment center where the tv has been removed, and replaced with a coffee maker. A flatscreen tv now sits on top of the entertainment center, necessitating you crane your head upwards while watching from the bed.Rooms are ridiculously overpriced for the area. Parking is $9/day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bitbytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton, South Bend. As you noted we are in the process of renovating the entire hotel. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. Your comments will be shared with our renovation team.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My son and I drove our vintage Studebakers to 48th Annual International Meet.

After driving four plus hours in fifty-three year old cars without air-conditioning, it was a pleasure to park indoors at the DoubleTree Hotel. We arrived at 1:00 AM and were welcomed with cheerful faces and warm chocolate chip cookies.

After a cool shower we crashed into the most comfortable beds surrounded by soft pillows.

When awaking in the morning and opening our drape, we had a beautiful view of the atrium from the ninth floor.

Although our stay was only two nights, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Studebaker Guest:
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. It was a great pleasure hosting this event; and I know our staff enjoyed seeing the cars and meeting your members. We look forward to hosting you again; and by your next visit you will be able to enjoy our Baker’s Bar and Grille. We were delighted to serve you during your recent stay at the DoubleTree Hotel. We realize that you have a choice in hotel properties, and we appreciate your business.

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our recent week's stay at the Doubletree was mostly a good experience, but it was marred by the ongoing construction as part of converting the hotel from a Marriott to the Doubletree. The rooms have been renovated, and we had a very nice room with good towels and plenty of space. Fridges available upon request. The pool was still being renovated, but at least it was open. The restaurant had been gutted, and the ongoing jackhammering was very loud and interfered with some of our conference's meetings. Our room overlooked the atrium where the restaurant was and will be again, and in the future I'd take the advice of some other reviewers here who say to request a room with a river view. I'll do that next time. I won't bother to review the bar, Sean O'Casey's, because it's going to be ripped out once the restaurant is completed and reopened. The plan is to replace it with a Starbucks. The hotel provided temporary space for a breakfast buffet and provided our group with a discount. While I did not available myself of the buffet others in our group said the food was good and there was a good selection of breakfast items from eggs and omelets to fruit and yogurt and cereal. The front desk staff was supportive, to a point. After that point they just said there was nothing they could do about the construction noise and it was what it was. However, the night they planned to continue the jackhammering until 9:00pm (!) my husband insisted they stop in time for the 7:00pm meeting, and they did send the manager out to stop the construction in time for our meeting. We will stay here again because the conference is held in South Bend every few years. I just hope the construction is over by our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in a room overlooking the atrium. Too noisy. Try to get a room with a river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton, South Bend. Your comments about the construction noise and the Front Desk’s Staff lack of understanding and response to your concerns is certainly not in keeping with our goal to provide an enjoyable stay. I am pleased our manager was able to resolve this issue in time for your evening meeting. We look forward to hosting your conference again and we will be pleased to share our completed renovation at that time. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to having you visit the DoubleTree by Hilton, the next time you are in South Bend.

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Address: 123 N Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Bend
#6 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 6,000 square feet of meeting space onsite, and an additional 150,000 square feet located in the adjacent Century Center Convention Complex, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton is South Bends premier hotel for meetings and events. This 295 room luxury hotel is conveniently located in downtown South Bend within minutes of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College, and the College Football Hall of Fame. As the only full service Hilton Hotel in South Bend, you can expect the highest level of service that is synonymous with the name Hilton. Enjoy spectacular views of the St. Joseph River along with easy walking to many of South Bends most popular attractions. Our onsite dining features locally inspired dishes that are sure to satisfy even the most discriminating critic. Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, The DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton South Bend will meet the mark every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Bend
South Bend Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing