We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
BEAUTIFUL SHRINE TO OUR LADY OF LOURDES

Have visited the Grotto many times on annual Notre Dame visits the last on in September 2019. It is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Robert M
,
Darby, Pennsylvania
Spiritual place of peace

A place of peace and solitude where you can visit any time of day. Remove stress through prayer and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
r0bt42
,
Michigan City, Indiana
Read all 315 reviews
  
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
265
40
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
265
40
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light a candle peaceful place notre dame campus lit candles loved ones a special place suggested donation quiet prayer virgin mary holy place spiritual experience sacred heart football game beautiful campus grotto reflection kneel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful tribute to Our Lady and a place to relax a bit and reflect on this magnificent University whether a student, teacher or visitor. Light a candle and say a prayer for someone or something that has a special place in your heart.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heart warming. Take the time to really reflect about life and all that is important within your life and spirituality. Take the time for prayer.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank chriskwapich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

This is a must visit if you are on the notre dame campus. We have nevet lit a candle but it is a very calm and good vibe setting here. Last time we stopped at dusk and it looked beautiful.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank markbG3194DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

If you want a quiet place in a natural setting where you can pray, reflect, and relieve yourself of stress, visit the Grotto of Our lady Lourdes at the University of Notre Dame. The Grotto is a reproduction of the famed French shrine where the Virgin Mary appeared to St.Bernadette on 18 occasions in 1858. After visiting the original site, Notre Dame founder Father Edward Sorin vowed to reproduce it on the campus of his new university. In 1896 a gift from Rev. Thomas Carroll, a former theology student, made this possible. Two-ton boulders from surrounding farms were used in its construction. The Grotto overlooks the lake and is near both a walking trail that surrounds the lake and the Basilica of the Sacred Heart. The Grotto is where hundreds of students have proposed marriage and countless football fans have stopped to kneel and pray while visiting the beautiful campus. Outdoor Masses are celebrated regularly, and the Rosary is prayed at 6:45 p.m. every day of the year, no matter what Indiana weather might have in store. I like to visit the Grotto on my lunch hour to talk with God and cast my cares on Him. I feel more clear-headed and relaxed after spending a short time reflecting and praying in this peaceful setting.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

This is a small area that is nice for peaceful meditation or prayer. The grotto is set into a small hill just behind the Basilica, so if you're not looking for it, it would be easy to miss.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank CMN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews