We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When a warm hug is your greeting at the door, you know you have found a terriffic place away from home.... Tom and Alice are warm and welcoming...happy to make your stay like home. This is the third year staying over enroute to Iowa and each time we look forward to the Oliver Inn. The rooms are lovely, beds are super comfortable, amenities to a detail... And the breakfast? Wonderful! Southwestern egg quiche, chocolate croissants, fresh fruits, warm pumpkin bread....just to name a few....totally delicious! All served with plenty of hot coffee and warm smiles! I have been to many bed and breakfast inns, and this ranks among the very best!
A wonderful place!

Room Tip: knute rockne room was great- spacious with a wonderful shower! and a delightful little porch balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12bbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
147
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

At the recommendation of our son and daughter-in-law, we stayed at The Oliver Inn on our way home from Michigan. Alice's chocolate chip cookies were heavenly as was the baked puffed pancake at breakfast. Our room was elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The inn is conveniently located in a historic district. Alice gave us directions and a map so we could walk the campus of Notre Dame. Highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

What makes a B&B special is something that's impossible to describe but you know when its there because you never want to leave! This was certainly the case with The Oliver Inn. The Inn is spectacularly beautiful and Alice and Tom are warm and wonderful. I felt like I was with family in my own private mansion. The Oliver Inn turned an ordinary business trip into a terrific memory. I look forward to returning soon. Whenever my travels bring me to South Bend, it's a no-brainer - The Oliver Inn !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWildThornBarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

great food. beautiful place to stay. very welcoming. a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: go to Tippacanoe Place, which is next door, during your stay and do the self-guided tour of the mans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Really classy! Each room was meticulous in antiques & detail, Most have a working fireplace, huge fluffy beds, internet & Large-screen tv's & their own bathroom. The Innkeepers were gracious to greet us Very Late Sunday night. The fresh breakfast was delicious & served in a sunny dining room on fine china. Located within walking distance of several South Bend attractions & restaurants. Very comfortable sitting rooms & "over-loaded" with South Bend history. You are literally living in a mansion!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Alice and Tom kindly allowed us to host our daughter's college graduation party at their B&B, and from beginning to end, it was a complete delight. Planning the menu with Alice was so enjoyable -- she welcomed new recipes and ideas, so we were able to serve dishes that are old family favorites. Because the weather was nice, we had cocktails in the garden, which was lovely. Dinner for 24 of us was in the dining room, and the food and service were perfect. I would wholeheartedly recommend The Oliver Inn for your special event. You will be so glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 894fightingirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepeeralice, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thanks Ann. It was a pleasure to have your group here. Congratulations to your daughter and all the graduates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A group of us taking a car club tour stayed here for a night so that we could dine at Tipecanoe and visit the Studebaker Museum - walk to them from here. Tom and Alice greeted us upon arival and made sure our entire stay was comforable and hospitable. It is a little pricey but, worth it - a great home made breakfast is included. The Victorian mansion is being renovated and the grounds are beautiful. If you follow your GPS, it will take you through some very "colorfull" parts of South Bend - better off to use a map. South Bend is not the cultural meca for the midwest but, if you find yourself in the area, stay here.

Room Tip: The Knute Rockne or Clem Studebaker are best - if you have 4+ people, try the carrige house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bend
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing