We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch B & B”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top-notch B & B”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We truly enjoyed our restful stay at the Oliver Inn. It was a mid-winter getaway for us, and we had the place almost to ourselves. The Oliver Inn is quiet, well-kept, and very comfortable, with several places besides our room to read or talk. The Erlandsons have thought of nearly every detail, from sound machines and CD players (with a lovely soothing CD), to beautiful robes in the closet, to a nice variety of snacks in the pantry. The innkeepers are very friendly, and we enjoyed having the chance to visit with them at breakfast. We recommend the Oliver Inn highly!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms look nice and have wonderful, comfortable amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchwarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
150
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I am a tour operator in South Bend, Indiana. We offer a group Holiday Dinner in the month of December every year. It is usually a progressive dinner at 3 of the B&Bs in Historic Downtown South Bend, but this year we held the entire dinner at The Oliver Inn. The Oliver Inn is exactly what an Historic Home should be. Lovely furnishings, wonderful hosts and innkeepers, and superb food. Tom and Alice are tops in the Bed and Breakfast industry!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelStarz46614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The place is quaint, clean and VERY much like home. If you are going to an ND game or just passing through this place is special. The rooms are not five but the breakfast is! Oh my God ... I'm still licking my chops. Each day it's different... And we've stayed their twice yet not gotten a duplicate! Try it if you like B&Bs... I promise you that you'll agree with my review!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our stay at the Oliver was one we will love to repeat. The Inn itself is gorgeous; I especially enjoyed curling up in the library with my knitting or a book, as the surroundings were so beautiful. The care we received during our stay is what will keep up coming back... Alice and Tom were welcoming and gracious, the breakfast was delicious and was served by candlelight on pretty china. The last morning of our stay my husband had a migraine, and he was treated with concern and pampering as though he were a family member. I will never forget that.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner one, and was very light and beautiful. I would let Tom and Alice choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Wish we had more time to visit the colleges in South Bend but we only had one night. Enjoyed our visit and dinner next door at The Tippecanoe Restaurant set in the old Studebaker Mansion-a castle like structure. Alice and Tom were away but their son David and his wife, were very helpful. Enjoyed the large Knute Rockne room with it's private outdoor porch-great for people watching on a fall day! Lots of little details to make your stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Oliver Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There is very little more I can say that hasn't been written in other posts except that we agree with all of the superlative reviews. On our departure morning, we wanted to be on the road early and breakfast is normally served at 8:30am. Alice was very willing to accommodate our schedule which we really appreciated. We loved the Knute Rockne room. We are so grateful that Alice and Tom accepted our well behaved dog. It's so rare that we are able to enjoy such a refined b&b as most inns do not accept pets-- we always travel with our goldendoodle. We spent our free day visiting Culver an hour away as well as toured Notre Dame campus. South Bend was such a pleasant stop on our 30 day road trip. the Oliver Inn was definitely a highlight.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GoldenJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts over the last 15 years and this one has to rank among the best!!! Besides the beautiful Victorian home and it's furnishings you have Alice and Tom as the sweetest hosts and so giving and kind. We felt very welcome and like we were at home. We were served delicious food at breakfast by candlelight and with piano music playing. Doesn't get much better!! Would stay again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studebaker room and liked it a lot. Roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
576 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing