We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Irish Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiddler's Hearth Public House

Fiddler's Hearth Public House
Ranked #2 of 292 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Nice Irish Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Pub staff was friendly, food and live music were good and was a short walk from the Oliver Inn. Would recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    152
    42
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Used to be my favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I used to love fiddlers hearth but my last two visits were disappointing. Firstly, they don't serve imported cider anymore. Whatever cider they have now is no good. I took family there in June and the fries were all old and the fish was just ok.

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaWElkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went for lunch on a Sunday and the food was so awesome. There was a brunch option but I decided to order off the menu instead and I was not disappointed. The Boxty Pancake with bbq pork was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. There was a couple playing music while were were there that really added to the experience.

The only concern I have is that our server wasn't great. It seemed like the other servers in the restaurant were on top of their tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennilk417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not getting any better....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

It used to be that the service was terrible now the food isn't much better. The fish and chips are normally quite good but yesterday the fish was crispy on the outside but wet in the middle. It was if the fish was defrosted and was still full of water when they battered it. The smoked salmon salad was pretty good except there were far too may capers on it. They no longer have imported cider. Not sure how that happened. The cider they do have (Crispin) is way too sweet. Crispin actually have an imported cider but this is not what is served. Not sure why a Celtic pub wouldn't have imported cider. They didn't even have Newcastle Brown :(
We decided to give them another try as we had heard our favorite waitress had returned. She wasn't there but the waitress we did have was so much better than many of the others we've had in the recent past. So the service was better but the food not so much. I don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dillnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“One of the best restaurants in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

What can I say, the food always comes out awesome (with the exception of grabbing food during rush hour), the atmosphere is always nice, and the food is relatively cheap. Oh and Wednesday night open mic is awesome :)

Helpful?
Thank stuartsolo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddler's Hearth Public House also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Fiddler's Hearth Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing