We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Fun, Tasty & Warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiddler's Hearth Public House

Fiddler's Hearth Public House
Ranked #2 of 292 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fun, Tasty & Warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

A find for us in South Bend as we drove through from Illinois to Ohio. Friendly and warm service with excellent food. We sat at a long table, with two of us on a comfy sofa! It was all fun and perfect for the occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonxreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    152
    42
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was there midweek. Food was good. I had the Irish Stew (lamb). The servers were nice. I kind of felt like I was in a Cracker Barrel. We ate and had a couple of beers and left. It's not a place I would seek out but I would go there again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank signalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Open Mic Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great and diverse local talent! Great staff! Very Friendly! I didn't care for the fish and soggy chips dripping with grease and served in newspaper.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_from_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food and an Experience you can't get anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fiddler's Hearth has a Celtic menu with unique foods and whiskies you won't find too often between South Bend and Dublin. It's meat and potatoes, but prepared in new ways. The public house atmosphere includes frequent live music, board games and slow meals. I don't miss being hustled for appitizers and desserts. Soak in the Fiddler's Hearth when you need a new experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there last July - the place appeared clean inside, the service was friendly and the food was very, very good. Prices were quite reasonable As I recall it was rather dark inside but we had a great time..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddler's Hearth Public House also viewed

 

Been to Fiddler's Hearth Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing