We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delicious!”

Fiddler's Hearth Public House
Ranked #2 of 296 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
granger
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I visited Fiddler's for lunch and had the Irish stew. It was delicious and the atmosphere is warm and inviting.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tangerineclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    163
    43
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Irish pub in downtown South Bend”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

has a lot of atmosphere food is very good. One of the closest restaurants to an original Irish pub.
Fish and chips are very good and they have really good potato soup.
On weekends there is a stage were you can listen to Irish music.
It is small but comfy and cozy.
We saw an actor eating there one evening who was visiting in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovebeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We refuse to pay for poor service and rude employees and that is what we had on our last two visits. We have sworn off Fiddler's for good. Beware they have some highly rude individuals in their employ and the food, well the food isn't even up to standard with O'Rourke's. My recommendation, elsewhere for late night drinks or Irish pub fare.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charmed”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We always like to select a local eatery on our travels and Fiddlers Hearth did not disappoint. It is rustic and you may share a table, but it is a warmth that melts any misgivings. My husband loved the beer list which our server could explain in detail. The wine was good and portion generous. The fish and chips are served in newspaper wrapping, which helped absorb the grease:) Loved the soft pretzel appetizer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique and quaint restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We ate there with with another couple and found the food to be very good. Portion size was just right and prices were ok. The only drawback was that parking is very limited unless you pay $4.00 to park.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddler's Hearth Public House also viewed

 

Been to Fiddler's Hearth Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing