We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, beautiful and comforting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innisfree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We went to Innisfree for Christmas after my father died. Mom just couldn't handle the idea of Christmas at home. We loved the rooms. The whole house was beautiful. My husband and I had one room, my mother another, my son another and my brother had one.
It was a pretty sad and stressful time for us but the innkeeper was wonderfully kind and sympathetic. We had great food and as good a time as possible. My mother died in January and my husband and my son and I went back and stayed before my son went back to Chicago. Again, it was a comforting and pleasant experience. We stayed in the loft room that time and I loved the jacuzzie.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MHCFortWayne_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

We booked the entire B & B for the weekend of my daughters wedding which was at the Basilica of Notre Dame - and the reception was at Tippecanoe. The propietor was kind and flexible throughout our stay. The bathrooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable!! Great night's sleep. It's decorated beautifully...One draw back would be for the elderly as there is not an elevator and the bedrooms are on the second floor, but otherwise a wonderful place!
-Mary M

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I spent two nights at Innisfree, a Celtic B & B in South Bend. Great location, comfortable atmosphere, welcoming hostess, tremendous breakfast-- highly recommended!

Thank LouisianaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We loved this Inn, Cindy was very welcoming. The Inn is stunning and the room was very comfy.We enjoyed pur stay at the Innisfree Inn and will return here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Twangboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We booked the entire inn for a family wedding and reunion in South Bend. The proprietor, Cindy Lewis, was wonderfully flexible in adapting to our needs and gave us free run of the inn, including the kitchen for the weekend. Cindy was very welcoming but never obtrusive. We all enjoying chatting with her and learning the history of the inn as well as other information about South Bend. The inn is walking distance from downtown and a number of good restaurants and neighborhood bars (with live music and games).

The pictures do not do the inn justice. The three parlors and two dining rooms downstairs are full of original woodwork and provided a very comfortable setting for small groups to chat and larger groups to play games in the evening. The backyard also includes nice plantings and comfortable sitting areas. All of the bedrooms were very comfortable and attractive. We found that shared bathrooms worked just fine, especially for a family setting. All in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithmfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We just got back from a weekend stay at the lovely Innisfree Bed and Breakfast. Cindy welcomed us with open arms into their (Cindy and Terry's) beautiful home. The house was built in 1892 from what I recall and has only had 3 owners. It surely shows how well kept and loved this home has been and still is.
The garden in the back is peaceful, and pretty.
We plan on returning many times to relax and enjoy the good food, beauty and especially one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

Enjoy the pictures we have attached.

Thanks again Lewis Family!
Jenn & Lindsay

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BLUEGOLDFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

On a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 10+. This is our 3rd stay at Innisfree and we are more impressed with each passing stay. The hosts could not be more friendly and acccomodating. They keep making more and more improvements on what was initially a beautiful place to stay. On our first visit, it was difficult to take a shower in the old style tubs in the rooms, but I'm happy to say that all the tubs have been retrofitted to take nice new style showers. Anyone who travels to South Bend and doesn't stay at Innisfree is missing out on a special place & special people. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oliver Inn
The Oliver Inn
#1 of 6 in South Bend
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innisfree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 702 W Colfax Ave, South Bend, IN 46601-1404
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Innisfree Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historicaly registered Queene Ann victorian home newly renovated. ac/vcr, wifi, cable tv,n on-smoking. Three blocks from downtown in historical neighborhood minutes from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Innisfree Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing