We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a little bit more effort please” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vine - CLOSED

The Vine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just a little bit more effort please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A happy party of ten celebrating a courthouse wedding, on a very slow weekday afternoon, so slow we were the only party in the whole restaurant, were met with good food and drink. But emphatically lackluster service. In my more cynical frame of mind I have to suspect it is because the tip was already added because of the size of the party. Timeliness and quality of food were great, so no fault to the kitchen. Unfortunately, the server did not come through to make an event as good as it could have been. Really no harm, everyone had a good time, but it was annoying to have to keep getting her attention, to keep requesting the simplest of needs, when all we wanted to do was focus on the happy event that brought us there. The final irritation is that she did not ask how the bill should have been presented, and thus it had to be redone. Not a real irritation, but without our still required hyper-vigilance, the father of the bride would have been stuck with paying half of a tab for which he was not responsible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the few downtown lunch spots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We needed lunch after a long flight. Great find! Wonderful salads, wines and a helpful staff in a lovely setting with plenty of window views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Appetizer selections were so good we never got to the entrees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were in South Bend for one night and saw an ad for The Vine. It turns out that it was half price for bottles of wine and appetizers the night we were there. We took the wait staff's recommendation to try the assortment of appetizers that included the hot crab dip with fresh baked bread. Maybe it was the wine or maybe it was the crab dip, the combination of the two made for a satisfying evening. The combination of appetizers along with a salad were more than enough food for the two of us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here with a very large group of friends after a matinee showing of Wicked. at first they weren't going to seat us because they were worried that they wouldn't get us out in time for their dinner crowd with reservations. But the wait staff and the kitchen staff was amazing and had dishes on the table in no time. The food was great and the service excellent for such a large group. They have limited outdoor seating which I would like to try next time I go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect before the theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Food, service and atmosphere was a perfect combination prior to attending the symphony at Morris Civic. We'll be going back very soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing