We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Week in South Bend, IN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vine - CLOSED

The Vine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week in South Bend, IN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I decided to eat at The Vine during restaurant week in downtown South Bend. I had tilapia, which was very good. We also shared an appetizer, the bruschetta. It was served with toasted bread rounds, drizzled with a wonderful balsamic vinegar, while the tomato/basic/garlic topping was served cold...and there was a lot of it! I would highly recommend it as an appetizer. The restaurant is on a corner, and there are windows all around you, so it is a nice setting. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margarit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite fun restaurant downtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Once a week ,atleast,we dine at The Vine downtown.The food is really good and so affordable.I love the desert menu and an after dinner chocolate martini with the decadent chocolate cake is a must!The wine and drink menu we love.The staff is so knowledgeable about recommending a wine for your taste.We absolutely love the staff!Michelle,Petra and Patrick really care that you are satisfied and will take good care of you.They are so friendly and personable!They are like family to us and try to sit us at our favorite table,even if they are packed!I really like the atmosphere and decor.It's modern and cozy.There is outdoor seating in the summer with a great view of downtown and the river area with the Morris fountain nearby.They are very popular with Notre Dame students and you have to make a reservation on a football weekend early!Very busy on those weekends.They also have a large room downstairs for private parties.Many restaurants downtown are pricey but The Vine's menu is so reasonable.The average entree is about $8.00 to $10.00.We've never been disappointed!P.S. The wine list is vast and the cosmo is to die for if Patrick makes it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good pre-theatre food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Vine is located less than a block from the Morris Theater in downtown South Bend. The menu is varied with everything from a fillet to specialty pizzas. We had pasta. I had the bowtie pasta with sun dried tomatoes and grilled chicken and my husband had the pasta diavlo in a vodka sauce. Both meals were tasty and satisfying. On other visits have had the grilled salmon and it has always been fresh and well prepared. We love the Asiago cheese appetizer served with warm bread.

Service can be a bit slow at times. Seems they may need a bigger wait staff. They have always managed to get us out in time for our theater event though. If you are going to the theater reservations are essential.

Wish The Vine had a larger selection of wine by the glass. Last night there was only 1 Chardoney available by the glass. It was not bad, but there are better.

All in all would go again. Like that there are lots of choices available and it is convent for events at the Morris.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have gone to The Vine frequently for lunch. The food is consistently good. There is a good selection - pasta, sandwiches, soup, salads, and pizza.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Everything was Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had the tastiest salmon salad -- every bite was an explosion of flavors perfectly mixed. I expected flakes of salmon atop the lettuce mixture, but the dish was served with a lovely filet of salmon on top, perfectly grilled and delicious. Nice wine list. Tasty homemade iced tea. Good service, attentive but not over bearing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing