We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall Good Hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were in town for a football camp at Notre Dame. Positives for this hotel is it's proximity to the university & several restaurants up the road with many more (plus a mall) within a 5-10 minute drive. Fitness room facilities were good. Breakfast was the average continental breakfast but did include a pancake machine. Also used their laundry facility but be sure to bring your own detergent as they do not have a dispenser. Opportunities include the seating for breakfast...when hotel pretty full, it made it hard to find a seat. Also it is clear the hotel has done some upgrading but still dated in some ways like older A/C units and some decor but overall a clean, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear MLinMD,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We truly appreciate the feedback we receive as it helps us when making any other upgrades or renovations. We are glad that you did have an enjoyable stay despite areas that may have provided any frustration while you were with us. We thank you again for being our guest and for letting us know how your stay was. If there is anything we might do to make your next stay more comfortable, please don't hesitate to ask a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    20
    15
    19
See reviews for
50
20
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The problem with the motel is the building. Everything is made of wood including the floors. If you are on the 1st or 2nd floor, somebody is walking around above you and with a wooden structure you hear them moving around. That's OK during the day but at night you expect quiet. Additionally, the walls seem to have no sound deadening at all. Somebody talking in the hall might as well be sitting in your room. Ironically, they used heavy solid core doors but didn't follow through with insulated walls. For $100+ per night, I would like a little peace and quiet. Can't get it here. I usually will turn the AC unit to cool with a constant fan running to create "white" noise. The AC unit in our room, in spite of having that selection on the controls, could not be coaxed into providing that service. The computer did not work in the business center and the front desk person was unable to get it working. Had to wait for the day shift to re-start it in the morning. Again, not a big thing but just another item that prevents a customer from having a great stay. Lots of choices in the immediate area. If I'm back that way, I'll go looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor to avoid foot noise above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear prototypecycle,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When walking down the newly remodeled hallways in this Holiday Inn Express, it feels like walking down hallways in a very upscale hotel. Carpet is plush, hallways wide, and wood decor elegant. Staff is very friendly. Would totally recommend this as a value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Check in was very quick and staff was friendly. Our room was spacious with two queen beds, and the bathroom was updated with marble vanity and new tile. I loved the hallway in this hotel-the murals on the ceilings are nice. The pool area was one of the cleanest I have seen, and they have pebble flooring in the pool area which is alot safer than slick concrete. The pool temperature was absolutely perfect and clean! As a travel agent, I will be back to stay at this hotel next time I am in South Bend.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stopped in South Bend, IN on our way to Pennsylvania. It was a wonderful hotel with quick check-in. The rooms were nice and we even received an upgrade for being a Priority Club member.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This facility is top notch and unique. Lots of granite appointments and custom painted accents. Service is friendly It is conveniently located for walking to restaurants, bars, and services. Near the toll road entrance, but not any traffic noise. It is a 15 minute walk to Nortre Dame.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am a Gold level member therefore have plenty of visits to Holiday Inns. As soon as I walked in the lobby smelled like a damp basement. Even though I was in a non-smoking room, it must have been a smoking room previously because it still smelled.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I want to thank you for your feedback and for being a loyal Gold member. Customer Service is our top priority, and I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expections. I will take this feedback to our housekeeping staff so they can improve on those areas. I hope you let us make a better impression in the future should you come back to the South Bend Area, and continue to use the Holiday Inn Express Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame
Address: 120 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from the University of Notre Dame, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers the perfect blend of luxury, affordability and selection in lodging. Built in 2005, our hotel features 85 impeccably designed guestrooms including one king or two queen beds as well as corporate-leisure, family, executive, and jacuzzi suites. As our guest, you will enjoy all the comforts of home right in your hotel room. All standard guestrooms and suites feature upgraded amenities such as free high-speed internet, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, an oversized and well-lit work desk as well as a 32 inch flat screen television. The Stay Smart Experience featured in each guestroom includes incredibly plush and comfortable bedding and exclusive bathroom amenities such as Kohler showerheads offering extra water pressure. Our hotel also features an indoor heated pool and spa, fitness center, a business center, and conference facilities. Plus, jump start your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served daily in our breakfast room from 6:00AM untill 9:30AM. Conveniently located off the 80/90 toll road, Business 31/933, and central to area's major business districts and local attractions, we are your gateway to the South Bend and Mishawaka Area. Whether your travels bring you for business, leisure, or to cheer on your favorite sports team, our hotel is your best choice for lodging when visiting South Bend, Indiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Holiday Inn South Bend
South Bend Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing