We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak good; not fish”

East Bank Emporium Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
East Bank Emporium Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 295 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Niles & Jefferson
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Steak good; not fish”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My friends and I celebrated Christmas dinner at the Emporium. We hadn't been there for awhile. To our surprise, dinner salads are now extra, food was served on small salad-type plates, and the fish (talapia) was tasteless. In fact one friend hardly ate anything on their plate. One person had a steak which they indicated was very good.

Service was average. It would have been nice to have our water filled without having to search for the waiter. We had to ask for dinner rolls.

The experience was disappointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryluber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    54
    18
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Among South Bend's Best”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We dine here 2-3 times a year and have always enjoyed it. The interior of the restaurant is classy. It overlooks the St. Joseph River and Riverwalk. The food is very tasty and the portions are generous. The only "negative" is that the tables are too close to one another - conversations are easily overheard. But we still rate it as one of our favorites in South Bend. Very much recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had dinner here after a Notre Dame game and there were about 14 of us. We weren't the only large party there that night. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. We had the spinach and artichoke dip and fried mozzarella as apps and they were delicious. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food and dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was the first time I had tried this restaurant and it was very good. The portions were perfect with a nice glass of wine and the atmosphere is very cozy. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
582 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Tough Meat”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I now realize why it was fairly easy to get a reservation only 2 days in advance here during prime time on the Friday night before one of the biggest 2013 Notre Dame home football games. We both had king cut prime rib, and they looked the right pink color as ordered medium rare, but they were tough, lukewarm, and lacking any juices. Even with two sides of au jus I had-the second was requested and brought very quickly, it was tough! The sides were ok as you got to choose 2. One of us had asparagus and mushrooms, and the other had a baked potato and asparagus as well. We both ordered a side soup as an appetizer. The French onion soup tasted canned with some cheese melted on top; the other soup was the soup of the day, which was Gouda Cheese & Red Peppers. It tasted very much like red pepper, but the cheese seemed curdled.
We parked on the street but almost moved to the lot once we saw one vacant spot because there were some characters around. One guy pretended to help me parallel park and then put his hand out for some money. Fortunately, I don’t carry money except for a hidden $20 in case of emergency, which this wasn’t! The car was untouched on our return so nothing negative happened. This side of the river in downtown South Bend still seems deserted at night! It had that Gary feeling.
We arrived about 30 minutes early but were promptly seated. No one was in line to be seated without a reservation-should have been an indicator of what was to come. The restaurant seemed to have sufficient staffing for the size and capacity, but most of them weren’t multi-tasking very well. While we were his only table, I think, our waiter did a mediocre job taking our order, bringing our drinks, and checking up once or so. Other servers brought the soups and the entrees. About the time we were served our main dishes, a table of 8 was seated nearby: 4 couples, but the men were at one end and the women at the other. They all were drinking wine, but the men and one lady red and the other 3 ladies white or vice versa. It took the waiter over 20 minutes of going back and forth to the bar to get their wine situation under minimal control before he even glanced over at us again. By this time, we had finished eating and were ready for our check and a to-go box, which we had to request a second time when he brought the check and refilled my water. There is so much room for improvement here, but I know I won’t be back to see if it ever happens! I could go on and on but will just leave it here for others to decide. I hope they have better service and food than we did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Bank Emporium Restaurant also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
South Bend, IN
 

Been to East Bank Emporium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing