We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Tippecanoe Place Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tippecanoe Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 296 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Moline
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I always compare to see who gets the better meal (compared duck and filet this trip). . . we were both winners! Our waiter kept the meal moving at a comfortable pace. From appetizer through desert, everything was perfect. One of the few places that knows how to cook a steak to order and get it correct. They were just finishing decorating for Christmas; well worth a stop to see this wonderful mason in its full splendid décor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    125
    57
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth going to tour the mansion.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Tippecanoe is pretty impressive as you approach it from the outside. It's a beautiful stone mansion built over 100 years ago by the Studabakers. First we enjoyed a meal. I ordered the prime rib which was very good. A companion ordered prawns and was not disappointed. As an appetizer we chose the baked brie en croute which was amazing. If I had to say anything negative it was that our particular server seemed distracted and wasn't as attentive as she could have been. I noticed other servers in the restaurant being much more engaged with their tables. After dinner we stopped at the front desk and received a pamphlet to use on a self-guided tour. Take the time to go over every inch of the mansion. It's beautiful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kpslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Family Dinner in Memory of My Aunt Ellen”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was one of my aunt's favorite celebration restaurants in South Bend where she and my dad's family grew up, so her children arranged a beautiful dinner in her memory after her funeral at St. Mary's College.

The Restaurant is the former Studebaker Mansion and is a fascinating historical place in a lovely setting....lots of interesting rooms, nooks and crannies. The banquet service was excellent and the food was fantastic. We all enjoyed the meal together, and it DID make the day feel like a celebration of Aunt Ellen's life!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_E_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, average service and food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were treated to Sunday brunch here by friends. The building (former Studebaker mansion) is beautiful and we enjoyed looking around after we ate, but the majority of rooms are for dining, so if it were busier it might be difficult to check out the entire house. The food was good, but the setup of the food at brunch was awkward, also they had meat (roast beef, ham), but really no vegetables. There was a very large party there the same morning we were, and the flow of people trying to get food just didn’t work out very well. We were seated on the “porch” where they have the espresso, latte, and cappuccino machines which made it extremely loud – they need to move these machines away from their customers. I’m sure the brunch was expensive, so I was a bit taken aback when I asked for a 2nd cup of tea and was told that there would be a charge for it – for the price of a tea bag and hot water it would seem that an “upscale” restaurant would give you a 2nd cup at no charge. My advice is if you go for brunch, check out to see if a large party will be there and try to schedule your time there around them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful mansion you can walk around in before, during and after your meal. Food was very good, as was the presentation. The huge stone mansion has the warmth and elegance of yesteryear...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank artairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippecanoe Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tippecanoe Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing