We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really cool old place!”

Tippecanoe Place Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tippecanoe Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 296 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Crown Point
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“really cool old place!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

so, my friends saw we have a special treat for you tonight we are going to the "mansion" ummmm should I be scared LOL! This is the coolest place I have ever seen, okay like this place is right down town. It has rolling grassy places to walk with high bushes and wonderful trees. The grounds were just so... gosh, so.... beautiful. When I stopped to ask a very nice young man if they ever have weddings here? He said "oh boy and they are really a joy to have" and smiles and asked if we wanted to get more information he could direct us. Now this guy was busy, he was trying to work right? but he took the time to tell us about the place and by the time we left we were "experts!" I can't wait to go again. It was a bit pricey but good and, well, the atmosphere was just enthralling. Thank you for the help young man (I so wish we got his name).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilgorerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    124
    57
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Over hyped”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've been there several times; all but once taken there by someone. I think the food is overpriced. The food was good, but not great. The atmosphere decreases as you climb the stairs - stay on the main floor. They seated us once (the only time we went by ourselves) in the basement - horrible!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting historical location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Teaching colleagues and I took a guest from Korea to the restaurant for Sunday brunch. Everyone else (except our guest and I) had been here previously and raved about it. Since I like historical places, I found it interesting to look around the house. The made-to-order omelet was especially good, but the rest of the fare didn't seem all that out of the ordinary and I'm not sure it was worth the $20+/per person (with tip) price tag. The value for me was more in the historical setting than the actual meal and that would be the only reason I'd go again and pay that much for brunch. I've paid that price for brunch in other locations and felt it was worth it, just not here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darcforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overrated and overexpected”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Buffet was compared to a cheap buffet at an expensive price. Not enough selection-mosly breakfast items which are cheap to prepare-old restaurant in bad need of repair-waitresses were very aloof-not a pleasant experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eatoutalot364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic site”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had dinner here with family...such a beautiful old home. I've never had walleye before and it was very good...others had the pork chop (looked like a very big serving) and said it was very good too. After dinner the waitress brought the dessert cart by...looked delicious but we were all too full. We were then invited to tour the building...it's beautiful! Would definitely recommend a visit to this historic home and restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippecanoe Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tippecanoe Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing