We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great venue”

Morris Performing Arts Center
Ranked #9 of 53 things to do in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The HOTTEST tickets in town are at the MAGNIFICENT MORRIS! Originally opened in 1922, The MAGNIFICENT Morris is listed in the National Historic Register and completed a restoration and renovation process in 2000 of the stage house and interior restored to its original vaudeville splendor. The Morris is the HOTTEST TICKET in Northwest Indiana for live entertainment! The theater hosts a wide variety of concerts, national Broadway touring musicals, symphony..., Dance, comedians, children's/family shows, and is home to the South Bend Symphony Orchestra and Broadway Theatre League. The Morris has a seating capacity of 2,564 and is consistently ranked by Pollstar concert industry magazine among the top 100 theaters worldwide. The Morris has been awarded a "Prime Site Award" by Facilities Magazine for several years (voted on by over 10,000 people in the entertainment industry - booking agents, promoters, talent buyers and special event planners.)
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have seen many concerts and shows at the Morris through the years. This beautiful theatre has been restored and is a real joy to go to. The only bad seats were at a recent concert with Brit Floyd. The speakers on each side of the stage were so big that it blocked part of the view. For most shows this is not a problem.
They serve alcoholic drinks, although somewhat pricey. And you can take them to your seat!!

1  Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Enjoyed seeing the Jersey Boys here. It was our first visit and will not be the last. Yes, the seats are somewhat tight, as are airplane seats and most live theatre venues, making me think twice about attending these events, but we enjoyed ourselves anyway. Every time I go to a live theatre event or concert, I am reminded that I would be more comfortable if I would lose 30 pounds! The theatre is beautiful, however. It is affordable compared to larger city venues. The sound and quality of the production was excellent.

Thank Indplsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, Director of Marketing & Promotions at Morris Performing Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We're so happy to hear that you enjoy your visits to the MAGNIFICENT Morris Performing Arts Center! The Morris does have some larger seats located on the main floor. Patrons can phone the Box Office directly at 574-235-9190 or 800-537-6415 to inquire about these seat locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is beautiful and I have been there many times to see shows like STOMP and Gabriel Iglesias.

The place is beautiful and the service and help from staff is excellent!

Seats are a little tight, but I always sit between people I know.

Thank DaniMarie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, Director of Marketing & Promotions at Morris Performing Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We're happy to hear that you enjoy your experiences at the Morris! The theater does have some larger seats on the main floor. Patrons can call the Box Office at 574-235-9190 or 800-537-6415 and staff will be happy to assist with these seat locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Last night 11/02/2013 I visited this center for the first time, to see the earth wind and fire concert. First off''''''If you are taller than 6ft and 'god forbid your weight Is over270-300LB As I am 6-4 and bout 290'''I could not sit down In these very''SMALL"""SMALL''''and very'''TIGHT""TIGHT''''seats...Now'''''''I can understand that there was an remodel done''''and I'm sure the objective was to maximize profit'''''''''Okay, but this was total over 'kill''''those seats up top'''(where I was, first balcony.....Are just 'crazy'''to small and tight.....Having said all this, to further 'spoil'''my evening, a very''RUDE"''and "NASTY''''usher came by and said''WHY CANT YOU SIT''''like I was a dog or something....I tried to tell her that I literally could not sit 'unless'''I put the seat''In the up'right position''''and sit on the edge of the seat''(man'' did that hurt 'the butt) She was not
trying to hear non''of it''''and was very nasty''and rude........Telling that I was "BLOCKING''''the view....First of all my seat was In front of the stairs leading to the ''upper''balcony...therefore nobody's line of sight....which the other 'ushers tried to tell her.....This ladys Name I'm told''Is MARGRET''''''She was very rude'''and seemed to be quite racist'''''as there were plenty of white folk'''''standing'''shouting''''''In front Of people.....But she some how Only''''''approached ''ME..... As I am afro''american.......I was totally offended'''''

1  Thank Sbend137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, Assistant Director - Administration & Marketing at Morris Performing Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The Morris does have different size seats and does have larger seats in the theater to accommodate larger size people. When purchasing tickets, patrons can inquire at the Morris Box Office about the location of larger seats. If there is a seating problem the night of a show such as seat size, view of stage, person seated in row ahead wearing large hat, etc., patrons can go to the Box Office and staff will try to relocate the person to a different seat. Although the Morris was almost sold out for the Earth, Wind & Fire concert on 11/02/2013, we are sorry that one of the volunteer ushers did not offer to assist you with this.

We will certainly look into your comments about the usher's attitude and will take appropriate action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

great venue - easy access - good prices - great shows!

The venue is very comfortable, the access by car is very easy and the building is a great venue for a show.

The prices are very affordable/reasonable and you can see great performers -- sign up for presale info.

Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Morris Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing