We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was quite attentive, food was very good”
Review of Cafe Navarre

Cafe Navarre
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Navarre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 297 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Description: A warm, inviting atmosphere best defines Cafe Navarre. Clearly one of downtown South Bend's most attractive buildings from the exterior, and the view from inside Cafe Navarre is nothing short of breathtaking. The fusion of Old World style architecture with natural light and the finest interior furnishings, the ambiance of Cafe Navarre is truly one of a kind.The style of food offered by Cafe Navarre includes French, Italian and Spanish. Cuisine distinguished by simplicity, full flavor, and healthiness describes the overall style. Cafe Navarre's menu also offers more fresh fish options than what other local restaurants typically offer.Dishes created with farm to table sources are unmistakable in flavor and quality. These are regularly featured at Cafe Navarre, along with an array of top shelf wines at prices that our customers return frequently to enjoy.Private Rooms: For your special event or business meeting, Cafe Navarre can seat up to 20 guests in each of three private meeting rooms.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Service was quite attentive, food was very good”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was a great meal for a special occasion and the staff was attentive to our needs considering two very young children were in our party. The restaurant helped us out with a private room, which was great considering two children were with us under 12 months of age, and our waitress recognized this dynamic and ensured that dinner flowed along smoothly and quickly. The food was very good and the portions were on the larger side, which provided take home for many in the group. In South Bend, there are not that many original, non-chain higher-end restaurants that get it, but Café Navarre is one of the good ones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    82
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food was incredible, the service impeccable and the setting so very fine. Since there were 8 adults & 2 little ones (10 months & 3 months), the staff provided a separate room that made the experience even better. My husband & I enjoyed the special of the evening - cobia, a very nice white fish that was prepared so well. Our sons & their wives & our daughter & son-in-law tried many of the other items on the menu. Everyone felt their selection was the best! The wine that was recommended by our waitress was incredible - a Patz & Hall Pinot Noir, Oh so yummy! Thank you for making my husband's 60th birthday be even more special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabdah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great choice for a good steak”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Cafe Navarre is one of the best restaurants in South Bend hands down, it has an unpretentious atmosphere as well as great food and impeccable service. Go for the gnocci appetiser, the french onion soup or the Navarre salad. The steaks are a great go-to for mains.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our group was 12 people. Everyone enjoyed this restaurant. The service was outstanding. The waitress knew the menu well and made good recommendations for food and drinks.There was something on the menu for everyone. The food was excellent. Good quality meat and well prepared.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent meals”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Recently went to Cafe Navarre for 2 special occasions, and both times we were greeted by name and wished Happy Birthday, and Happy Anniversary. Staff are very thoughtful. First time sat downstairs in a booth, and second time upstairs on the balcony. Both were fun, great views from upstairs. All of the appetizers we've tried, the soups and entrees have been excellent. The fish specials are some of the best in the Midwest. Great cocktail list, great draft beer selection (lots of locals), and decent wine list. Again, service was terrific, this time by Kevin who was very friendly and understated. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thevinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Navarre also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Navarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing