We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, decent, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2009

There was nothing 'wrong' with the hotel or my stay there, but neither was there much about it I would consider outstanding. It was adequate. The room itself was small but comfortable enough and equipped with what you would expect of a decent hotel in its price range.
Because of its size, it felt a bit more 'homey' than most places that tend to feel much more generic.
The gathering room in the basement level would probably be a fun place for families or for groups on a ND football weekend.
Its location is fantastic for ND events, especially football. Many rooms look out over the stadium across the street.
The breakfast was a step or two above that of most hotels in the same price range. It isn't a reason in itself to stay there, but it is a nice amenity.
It was a pleasant stay. Nice enough so as not to produce any complaints, but nothing I'd rush to tell others about.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbsfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 377 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

We had an excellent stay at this hotel! We planned a reunion for 25 people and every one of us had a pleasant, warm, accomodating experience. The staff were friendly and generous. From the moment we started planning our visit, until the end of a long weekend, the staff eased our stay. The person who helped us plan the stay couldn't have been nicer! We were also able to use "The Big East" room, where we could hang out as a group, rather than gathering in individual hotel rooms. That large room had a big-screen TV, kitchen, couches, and tables for games. The kids loved it. The location was close enough to walk to campus and see campus from the windows of the hotel. The front porch with its long row of rocking chairs was welcoming any time of day. In addition, the beds are so comfortable! The breakfast is warm and full of options. The staff were accomodating of our needs. Every member of our group commented on the excellent quality of the hotel. We stayed on a non-game-day weekend and prices were more reasonable than any other hotel, in particular for the quality! We would highly recommend it, for individual travel, or for accomodating a large group!!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank scc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We had been guests at the hotel when it was the Jameson many years ago. The rooms had fallen into to disrepair at the time and so we had not returned for several years. We have now been guests there twice in the past few months and will be returning this fall. The two rooms suites are nearly as large as a 1 bedroom apartment. They have modernized and upgraded the rooms and they are very comfortable. I understand that further renovations are still in process. It is convenient to ND and the city, near a charming student style coffee house. The best prices were found on the hotel website, even more than making them by phone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chayadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Located directly across the street from Notre Dame, Ivy Court was a perfect choice for our one day college visit.

The room was large and clean and the staff was extremely welcoming.

And the price was extremely reasonable. If there is a fat envelope in my son's future, we definitely will return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TiptreeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel is in an excellent location based on campus so it is ideal if you are here on Notre Dame business, attending a sporting event or simply visiting your child.

I was warmly welcomed by name upon arrival and my check-in experience was faultless. The room was very large and included every luxury you would expect from a much higher standard hotel. The work space was well thought out and internet access easy to understand and available at a very high-speed. The bathroom was clean and hot water plentiful with good wash products and warm fluffy towels. The kitchenette was well equipped and modern. Room furnishings were new and stylish and the whole room atmosphere was cosy and informal.

The hotels included breakfast was plentiful and of a good quality. I arrived late for breakfast one morning and there was still plenty of food left and none of the very courteous waiting staff gave me the feeling that I should rush my start to the day so they could close the breakfast room as is so often the case.

Overall, the hotel represents excellent value for money combined with homely comfort along with a welcoming atmosphere so often lacking in the hotel industry these days. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank leojenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This hotel is right across the street from Notre Dame, the only hotel closer is on Notre Dame's campus. The rooms have been nicely redone with all new furniture, carpet, linen, etc...The hot breakfast was a nice suprise and nicely done and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful! This was the perfect spot to stay when we visited Notre Dame and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ndfanChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Location is second to only the Morris Inn (for proximity to ND). Rooms were under construction in mid-July. Large suite rooms with comfortable beds. In general, rooms will need updating in near future, but it was still clean and a reasonable price.

For a little extra per night, the Inn at St Mary's is much newer and still near campus.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Melands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
594 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Address: 1404 Ivy Ct, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#4 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $109 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Jamison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing