We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff... nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had the chance to see Ivy Court Inn& Suites and have some of their great breakfast. Helpful courteous staff. The management team is very approachable and friendly with guest requests. Nice Lobby, great Dining area, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Hi Renman42,

Thank you for stopping in to experience all that the Ivy Court Inn & Suites has to offer, and for posting this review! We strive to provide the highest quality of customer service, and it's fantastic to know our guests appreciate all we do. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and please make sure to visit us again real soon!

See you soon!

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved it, I have high expectations and this hotel met them! When I arrived they had put my friend and I in adjoining rooms which was awesome! It's little things like that that can make your stay start out right. They had cookies and hot chocolate, which was great b/c it was freezing out. The room was very spacious and very clean. I could even see Notre Dame campus from my room and saw the golden dome! Really happy overall especially the buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: I always prefer rooms higher up. Loved the third floor and was on the inside away from the road. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Hi Audrey,

Thank you for staying with us during that cold snowy night! I am so glad that you and you friend found comfort in the warm cookies, hot chocolate, and our amazing breakfast. We greatly appreciate you posting your reviews. We hope that you will come back and see us again, maybe next time the weather will be a little warmer!

Thanks Again!

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I cannot tell you how much we LOVED Ivy Court Inn & Suites. It was one of the best places I have been in ages and we travel quite a bit. We traveled in off season and the rate was beyond compare! Obviously, the location cannot be beat as it is walking distance to campus (we were there for the ND hockey game), but there were so many more amazing things about Ivy Court. The staff was nothing short of phenomenal, the rooms were cleaned beautifully, the decor was updated and inviting, the building layout made me feel as if I was in a cute little country estate, and the breakfast was simply delicious. The little touches like the chocolate chip cookies, iced tea, and coffee in the lobby did not go unnoticed and just added to the inviting nature. When we arrived there was apparently a large youth hockey group on our original floor, although we did not know and had not complained, but the front desk person took the trouble to move us fearing that it might make our stay less comfortable. There was such attention to detail from start to finish. We talked about the experience multiple times and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Molly B,

Thank you so much for choosing the Ivy Court Inn & Suites! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back to visit us when back in the area. I can't thank you enough for the great feed back, it is nice to know that our guests enjoy and notice all we have to offer.

Hope to see you soon!

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice room - my wife and I had a single king size bed. All the amenities you could want from a hotel, including a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, and there were complementary cookies, coffee, and iced tea for us when we checked in at the lobby. Ivy Court is right across the street from Notre Dame and very close to some of the new retail, dining, and pubs just south of the campus. It was well worth the side trip off of I-80 on our way to Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whipple_810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Wripple_810

Thank you so much for choosing the Ivy Court Inn & Suites during your stay in South Bend, IN. We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to post your comments, this is very important to us being an independent property. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it's always terrific to have this noticed. Please keep us in mind when you return to the area, it would be our pleasure to have you back as our guest.

Thank You,
Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Friendly staff and nice accommodations. The breakfast was eggceptional. Complimentary snow removal from car was a nice touch. Right next to ND campus. There is a new shopping center nearby. Great value.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Jason C

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am so glad that you took advantage of our snow removal program and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accommodating you during your future visits to the area, maybe next time you can enjoy our bike rental instead of the snow removal program :o)


Thank You,
Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Quite frankly, I am confused on how this Inn has taken the #1 spot for South Bend hotels. We spent three nights here in a deluxe king room. The front desk clerk at check in had to see if our room was ready at 4:00 p.m. Our first impression was that the room is dated and some areas are well worn. The room was for the most part clean but the bathroom appeared dirty in several areas such as the grouting around the tub was cracked and pulling away and the door, trim and toilet paper holder was worn and patched. The room had a small kitchenette area with a small fridge, microwave, and sink, which came in very handy.

The sink and counter are separate from the bathroom, which is very nice for two people trying to get ready at the same time. The bathroom with the toilet and tub is very small! The door barely misses the toilet when opening and closing. The shower had poor water pressure but the water was very hot. The first shower I took had me standing in several inches of water as the drain was worse than the water pressure. We reported it to the front desk and the drain problem was taken care of that day. There is no vent or fan in the bathroom which can be a problem with odors.

There is a very good complimentary hot breakfast buffet. They have a Nescafe machine with espresso, latte, cappucino, hot chocolate, etc. There was both scrambled and fried eggs every day along with bacon, sausage, and hash browns. There is also a waffle machine. The only thing missing is pastries - no muffins, donuts, or sweet rolls. This amenity was one of the high points for our stay.

Our room was quiet except for Saturday night. The Inn parking lot was almost full when we arrived back just before 11 p.m. that evening. There was a group in the room next door to us and the walls are obviously thin from the noise we could hear. The worst part was two women screaming obscenities outside our room shortly after we arrived. Thankfully, everyone apparently went back to their own rooms around 11:30-midnight because it did get quiet and we were able to sleep.

This would not be my choice on my next visit to South Bend. We did get a good price for what we received, but I am looking for something more in my hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hello OhioTigger,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us at Ivy Court. I am sorry that your stay was not what you were expecting. We are currently undergoing renovation to update some of the areas that were not touched in our last renovation in 2011. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities such as our kitchenette area and separate counter space outside the bathroom.

As you may have read in previous reviews, we are an independent property that is very unique. Our personal level of service and amenities like our complimentary hot breakfast buffet made from scratch every morning complete with our made to order eggs are just one thing our guests love about our property.

Our posted check-in time, which can be found on your confirmation, is 4pm. Upon check-in it is our policy to double check our housekeeping board to make sure the room is ready for every guest in order to avoid any inconvenience for you.

I hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Should you have any further questions or concerns please let me know. bgill@dorahg.com.

Sincerely,
Brandon Gill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed at Ivy Court (Jamison Inn) many times and always look forward to our stay there. The only small negative on our last visit was that the shower pressure was very low (Room 30 in second building).

So glad that you have the suites---then, there is plenty of room if one of daughters wants to come with us to South Bend to visit our father/grandfather. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat. We have stayed at a couple other places (because there was nothing available at Ivy Court) and they are just not the same. When we stay at Ivy Court it feels like home. We have been having the Stark Family reunion there for almost 10 years and love using the room downstairs for our family gathering. The breakfast that you include is great---waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, biscuits, bagels, juice, the list goes on... Your staff are always been so friendly and accommodating. This is the BEST place to stay in South Bend (and best value) especially if you want to be across the street from Notre Dame!

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want a separate area with couch, TV, refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon G, Director of Sales at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Gail S.

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review. It was great having you back during your visit to South Bend. I just spoke to Jan and you guys are all set for the family reunion this July. The staff looks forward to your families arrival each year. I had the pleasure of having lunch with Dennis last summer and I am so happy to hear that is doing well. Take care and see you in July!

Jennifer Thomas
Director of Sales
Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
619 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Address: 1404 Ivy Ct, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $108 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're inn at the Ivy Court Inn & Suites. Located just steps away from the University of Notre Dame's campus, enjoy the beautiful historical views, and the nearby shopping and dining in Eddy Street Commons. We are an independent boutique property that our guests love returning to time and time again. Wake up in the morning to a homemade breakfast. Treat yourself at any time to gourmet coffee, freshly brewed iced tea and cookies in our lobby, or get moving in our state-of-the art fitness area. Relax at the end of your day in one of our spacious rooms. We offer both standard rooms or suites to accommodate many of your different travel needs. Stay connected on our complimentary high-speed internet access. We also offer the most unique meeting space in our area. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, you're sure to find a cozy sense of home here at Ivy Court. There's a reason we are ranked the country's #2 College Hotel. Let us extend our hospitality to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Jamison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing