We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning... the hotel's walls are paper thin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warning... the hotel's walls are paper thin.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ivy Court Inn & Suites over the spring break. It was much less than what we expected. I arrived late with two kids and met my husband there. After a long flight we wanted to have a good night's sleep so we could get up early and get on with our business. Warning... the hotel's walls are paper thin. Unfortunately, when we were all ready for bed and shut the lights off, we could hear the "neighbours" television right through the wall. It wasn't just a muffled sound but we could hear, word for word, the dialogue. We called the front desk twice (with no resolution) and finally had to go down (after midnight) to complain. The front desk finally moved us to another room which was much quieter. However, having to pack up your bags, two kids, and husband to move to another room after midnight, in the snow, was not really what we expected from this hotel. I would opt for another hotel if I ever ended up in South Bend again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgoralski, General Manager at Ivy Court Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and review of Ivy Court Inn & Suites! Of course we would MUCH rather hear that you had the perfect stay with us, but we understand there are things that can happen to prevent this that are out of our control. Please rest assured, we did everything we possibly could to get the guest next to you to turn down their television. We are so sorry that our only other option to help you and your family, was to move you away from that room. If there is a chance you would like try us again, if you are back in South Bend/Notre Dame area, please call me directly and I will personally make sure you are well taken care of by myself and my staff. You should also have received an apology by mail, as well. Thanks again for choosing us for your stay, we hope to be able to better accommodate you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    69
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
156
65
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here so our son could visit his dream school. We had a view of the campus from the room. Wonderful breakfast. Great staff. Reasonably priced too! Perhaps that changes on game day!! We would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson4disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

For a campus visit to Notre Dame, we booked the Ivy Court Hotel. It's very conveniently located, just off the southeast corner of campus, across from the baseball field. The hotel conjures up the feeling of a resort on some remote northern lake with its unique design and dark wooden beams in the room. They even had a nice roaring fire in the dining room. Breakfast was excellent.

The room was quite comfortable, very clean and comes with a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. The flat screen was large enough to see from the beds, and the beds were just right. There are some fast food places up the road to the east and just west toward the campus entrance is a new "college town" atmosphere with apartments and restaurants. Try O'Rourke's Irish pub, right across from the main drive into campus for good food and beer, including a nice list of local and regional craft beers from Indiana and Michigan, both of which have some excellent brewers such as Three Floyd's and Bell's.

Overall, a great value for the money, especially after having driven down from a stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was very pleased with my stay here. I was traveling with a few visitors from Japan and we had stayed at the Sherraton the night before and they prefered this hotel over the Sherraton. The rooms were larger and well maintained. I thought the Sherraton beds were better but overall for the price paid this was a great stay. The one thing i must tell you is the breakfast was by far the very best N/C breakfast I have ever had at a hotel.
Fresh cooked eggs and breakfast potatoes were included. We ate on real plates with real flatware. Drank fresh juice from a glass not a plastic cup.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Breakfast is great. There's some yummy salsa that obviously does not come from a jar. Rooms are large and comfortable, very pleasant. Staff was friendly.

Downside: The walk to campus is 15 minutes of concrete. Lots of stadiums and stadium parking lot. At first I thought the university was ugly looking, until one morning I woke up and went for a run north of the university, near the lakes. The university is quite nice when approaching from the north, but the southern part not so much. Make sure you check out the north part of the university

Downside: Both treadmills appeared to be broken. That would be OK when it's not freezing out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ivy Court is a charming, welcoming stay that doesn't disappoint. While it may not be the most modern of hotels, the warm reception from the staff and delicious breakfast is worth the trade. We can't wait to go back to South Bend and stay here again! Simply lovely!

Room Tip: Room 306 had a great view of Notre Dame's Touchdown Jesus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hskrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I lived at Ivy Court for 6 years Monday through Friday, I would not even think of staying any where else. My professional life has changed and I don't travel now but when I visit South Bend I still stay at ivy Court. The staff is great. And they have cookies too. The bed and breakfast style is very comfortable.The room has a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The rooms are always clean. The rooms are well maintained with nice furniture. The daily breakfast is great, beyond the usual cereal, waffles, and bagels, there were two kinds of eggs, both bacon and sausage, hash browns, and pancakes as well. Everyone there treated me better than family. That was not something that grew with time, that was there the first day I stayed at the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Herald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Property: Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Address: 1404 Ivy Ct, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Jamison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing