We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home in Notre Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home in Notre Dame”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our family's second football recruiting trip to Notre Dame and Heather and her staff are part of the reason we are strongly considering sending our son to ND. We felt so welcome and the people were so nice to us,which is a good representation of the nature of the people in this small town community. The breakfast is home cooked, real eggs, pancakes and waffles... None of that processed fake, warmed up food served at the free breakfasts at chain hotels'. The coffee was a great start to the mornings. Beds and linens were very comfortable and we all got a good night's sleep each night. This is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    69
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
154
65
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The people who work at the Ivy Court Inn were very nice, from the front desk to the breakfast to the cleaning people. The breakfast area is nicely maintained in the morning with a variety of items for a healthy breakfast to start the day. The room I had was very large with two queen beds, a table sitting area, mini kitchen area, a large sink area and separate shower/toilet room (and it wasn't considered a "suite" room). The Inn is located on the edge of Notre Dame campus and seems to be the Inn of choice for visiting scholars. So it seemed to me to be really an adult hotel. The bed were not really plushly padded, but were fine since I was very tired by the time I got back to go to sleep. The beds were not pillow tops or anything extra comfortable as in some hotels. Additionally, I would say this because it is definitely not soundproof. The Inn supplies ear plugs ostensibly for the road noise on the semi-busy road bordering one side of the Inn, but I requested them for the noise that was transmitting between rooms and from the hallway. The Inn was not at all fully occupied during my visit, so that made it fine if you don't mind wearing earplugs to sleep. Don't know what the noise level might be during the football season! The only complaint that I had on the service was that the toilet was not working well (going down very slowly). I requested that it be fixed during the day and it wasn't. The night clerk brought me a plunger and let me do it myself!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommy23Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

From the initial phone call to the last "take care" it was quite nice to have people treat you like they actually do want your business. The rooms are very clean. Usually rooms this inviting cost at least twice as much as Ivory Court charges a night. The whole experience was great. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bail43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was my first visit to the Ivy Court when my son and I travelled out to see the Notre Dame campus. My worst nightmare came true, however, when I found out my departing flight out of South Bend Airport was cancelled due to weather. Thank God Jen, the Sales Manager, was at the desk that morning because she became my Guardian Angel that day. She made numerous phone calls for me to try to find an alternative means of transportation to Chicago where I needed to catch my connecting flight. When she found out there was a bus leaving Notre Dame and heading to O'Hare Airport in an hour she personally drove my son and I to the bus stop to make sure we wouldn't miss it!! If it wasn't for Jen I never would have made it home that evening. I felt like she treated me like family! Not to mention the hotel was great, the location convenient to Notre Dame, and the complimentary breakfast outstanding!! I will never stay anywhere else but the Ivy Court when traveling to South Bend.
Thanks Jen for all you did - you went above and beyond for us!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannm1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

There was a mix up in our reservations (caused entirely by me). When we finally got a room across town, the manager Jennifer Thomas called a cab for us. When informed it would be a half hour wait, she got someone to take us IN HER CAR. I would highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed at the hotel many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stay in hotels in the MI, IL, and IN on average 6 nights per month. This was my first time staying at this hotel. Generally I stay in chain hotels but I decided to give this place a try. If you are looking for a hotel located close to ND this would be a good place to stay. If you are looking for a good quality I would probably look in a different direction.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull. However.....
I could hear just about everything going on around my room due to very thin walls!! I felt like I was in a tent. Above the bed there was a horrible patch job on the ceiling. Personally, if given the option I would try to avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheese1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were in South Bend to attend a women's hockey game (against the Badgers - go Badgers!). The Ivy Court Inn & Suites is located a block away from the new Compton Ice Arena - so very convenient. Wonderful breakfast at Ivy Court, great lobby to mingle in, and a staff always willing to help. Room was perfect. Nice to stay at a local place, even if I didn't get my Hilton points.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Court Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Court Inn & Suites

Property: Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Address: 1404 Ivy Ct, South Bend, IN 46637-5684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#3 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Court Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stylish, boutique-style hotel or relaxing overnight accommodations next to the University of Notre Dame, you’re inn luck. The newly renovated Ivy Court Inn and Suites is located directly across the street from the University of Notre Dame’s campus and unbeatably close to the heart of the city of South Bend. We want to help make your stay happy, convenient, and comfortable when visiting the Notre Dame/South Bend area. At Ivy Court, we’re pleased to offer a unique experience with various room plans from which to choose, gathering spaces complete with an exercise room, and a hot breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs and make-your-own waffles. We offer unbeatable amenities and are located in close proximity to many South Bend attractions, world-class universities, healthcare institutions, corporate businesses, and Indiana’s first two-site, state-certified technology park. We are a convenient and charming drive from local Amish Country, nearby casinos, outlet mall shopping, the exciting and diverse “Windy City” of Chicago, and the city of Indianapolis. Just take a look around and you’ll enjoy views like no other: the famed Golden Dome, The House That Rockne Built—Notre Dame Football Stadium, Basilica, and, of course, Touchdown Jesus. We’re proud of our standing as a Better Business Bureau-certified hotel. And, our hotel exterior isn’t the only green thing around – we have a green mission, too, and we follow and cultivate environmentally friendly practices every day at our hotel. We invite you to look around and get comfortable. You’ll soon see why Ivy Court Inn & Suites is the choice for accommodations in South Bend. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ivy Court Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Court Inn And Suites
Ivy Court Hotel South Bend
Jamison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing