We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great location, clean, and priced right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Area
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large rooms, great location, clean, and priced right.”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My wife and I were going to stay somewhere else in South Bend, but found out they wouldn't allow us to stay in a non-smoking room with our dog. A few clicks of the mouse in a nearby McDonalds parking lot, and we booked a reservation for the Comfort Suites.

I was surprised by the size of the room. For a little over $100 dollars are room was extremely spacious. It had a living room area (plush chair, and couch), with a column entrance to the bed area. The room also included a flat screen HDTV, and a mini-fridge.

The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I have ever seen. A lot of options, including a lot of hot food such as eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.

Notre Dame stadium was probably about a five to ten minute drive away depending on traffic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theclassic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
As a pet owner I know how difficult it can be to locate a pet friendly hotel. We are proud of our hotel and what it offers to all our guests both human and pet. We appreciate your kind words and hope the next time thru you will stop in and see the new look we are about to embark on. Renovations of our rooms will begin in April and we are sure you and your kids (pets) will enjoy your stay even more this time round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    50
    38
    21
    12
See reviews for
77
36
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel en route to Wisconsin from New Jersey for Thanksgiving. We saved every penny we had to to make this trip back to see our families. This hotel sounded like a great bargain, since it included breakfast--a big cost savings when you're travelling with young kids. We checked in at around 2am after driving 12 hours and requested a non-smoking room. The room was frigid and smelled like bleach. After carrying in the kids and putting them to sleep, we turned on the air, and the room filled with the smell of cigarettes. Obviously, someone had smoked in the room before. I am a smoker myself, but never inside, never with my children around. BUT the kids were asleep and it was 2am so we went to sleep. The next morning, we headed down to breakfast, only to find that although there was still 1 hour of breakfast time left, there were no eggs, no bagels and no coffee. The woman serving kindly ran to the back to see if she could find anything for my children to eat but they were out. Other families complained that this was the second day in a row that this had happened, and the serving woman agreed, but could do nothing about it. So we packed up and went downstairs to check out and receive our deposit, passing the cleaning lady along the way with a pack of cigarettes sitting on her cart. We were told the room would have to be checked for damages first, but the person who was checking was on break, and there was no manager on duty. In fact the manager was off for the weekend--this, on the biggest travel weekend of the year. SO we waited 1/2 hour, then another 20 minutes once she returned. Then she stated there was "evidence of smoking" so we couldn't receive our deposit--part of the evidence being my empty cigarette pack in the garbage. I explained that I'd cleaned out my pocketbook (a lot of garbage accumulates while travelling) before we started out again, and that the room smelled like smoke because we'd turned on the air to heat the room. She said she couldn't do anything about it without the manager. That the room would have to have "testing"---I explained that the room stunk of smoke when we turned on the heat, and that someone HAD smoked in the room, so the test would only show that, and that we NEEDED our deposit back in order to continue our travels. She called the manager, who would NOT get on the phone, and who said, "too bad, we'll have to mail it to them." Again, I explained we needed this money for the trip, but she refused and apologized for the manager, stating it had been a crazy weekend and that the hotel was really understaffed and she also could not understand WHY the manager wasn't there working. SO--1 hour after we tried to leave, we left hungry, exhausted from a night sleeping in a stinking room, and without the money we had put down for a deposit in good faith, in terrible moods after being falsely accused. Nice stay, huh? NO!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

There are not a lot of pet friendly options in South Bend, but Comfort Suites was was a good place for us to stay. We have a very senior dog and our a bit on the senior side ourselves. Our room was comfortable. The fridge did not work right away and we had to get a new one put into the room. That and the side door reader did not always work and at 6 in the morning, that was not a lot of fun.

However, breakfast was always good. The coffee is very good. And the very best part of our stay was Bonnie, who makes sure that the breakfast area is well stocked and clean. She made us feel completely comfortable and we watched as she did the same for everyone else. Starting the day with someone like that around really makes for a great day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccd_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here on our way to Ohio, it was difficult to find a pet friendly hotel that didnt charge and arm & a leg. I hate being subjected to run down hotels just because we have our family dog along. The hotel was pleasant and easy to get to, the staff was super friendly from the front desk to the breakfast lady, everyone was nice! The rooms were pleasant with the exception of the bathrooms needing updating, cracked & faded tiles were the most noticeable but it was clean and suited the purpose. The guys LOVED the hot breakfast which included all you can eat bacon! We enjoyed this hotel so much that we chose to stay again on our way back through from Ohio. the second stay our room had a funny odor, not sure what was up with that, wasnt animal urine it was just odd and they had deodorizers hanging on the ac vents. Overall it was a nice place to stay and we would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Pets are a large part of a lot of our lives and we enjoy having them as guests in our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and breakfast. We are scheduled for a 3 Phase renovation and hope the next time you are in the area you will notice the changes we have made. We look forward to seeing you and your furry friends on your next trip thru the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our family of 5 has stayed here 5 times in the past 3 years. The staff is always friendly, the breakfast is good, the pool is a good size, and the business center is a plus since we work on our vacation. The beds are doubles which are a little small for us but we have brought our Labrador with us sometimes which we appreciate. However, it's time for some maintenance as we haven't seen any over the years--carpets need to be repaired, stretched and cleaned; stairwells and elevators need attention; rooms have wear and tear on bathroom doors, tile and curtains. We will stay here again because it's a good location and it's not a bad price for a suite (89.95 + tax). South Bend/Mishawaka also has any restaurant you could ask for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-with-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, MT
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Only stayed one night while traveling. I paid $80.99 Nice price. The hotel is a bit older but is still in good shape and clean. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Our staff is second to none and accepts the challenge to go the extra mile. Each staff member acts as its own concierge which is a huge benefit to our guests. We are in the 3 stage process of renovating our hotel and have just completed Phase I which included an exterior upgrade and curb appeal. Phase II will begin shortly with a redo of our lobby-breakfast-front desk and public areas. Phase III includes all our guest rooms. We hope that you will continue to choose us as your hotel provider of choice whenever in the area. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Good Service, good breakfast, convenient, bed comfortable but prefer Queens - not a big fan of double beds, standard mini suite with partial wall divider, standard TV, room dated, needs upgraded but clean, nice pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
1.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Property: Comfort Suites University Area
Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing