We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Area
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived late on a Friday night and checked out early Sunday morning. The staff at the front desk were helpful. The cleaning ladies were the best! They were always working and very considerate. The rooms were very clean with the exception of the the shower head in the bathroom. The air conditioner in the room was fantastic. I had a great time at the pool and a hot deliscious breakfast every morning. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We wnat to thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. Typically you only here the negatives and it is a true pleasure when our guests feel that we have met or exceeded their expectations. We hope to see you in our house again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here during a cross-country move with our large German Shepherd and cat. It was refreshing to stay in such a clean, friendly place while traveling with our pets. Close to Notre Dame, fast food (steak and shake, McDonalds, Jimmy Johns, Little Caezars all within walking distance). Great indoor pool and jacuzzi! The staff gave us a floor level room near a side exit so we did not constantly have to walk our pup through the lobby or up and down stairs to go out. Decent continental breakfast. Good military discount as well, the discount brought the room price down from $109 to about $87 before pet deposit. We recommend and will stay here again if we ever pass through!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank fam4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We pride ourselves in accepting pets and appreciate those families who treat their pets in a great manner. We want to thank you for taking the time to post a positive review and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Arrived on a Friday afternoon, the exact type of room we requested was ready and available. The location of the hotel is excellent for all things close to downtown and Notre Dame. The lobby was very large with a fireplace, lots of room for the included morning breakfast and an indoor pool, business and fitness center. The front desk was extremely polite and courteous. I was even given a detailed map with specific directions to the location I was looking for in downtown. Our room was large and comfortable, love the pull out part of the desk and wifi. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows very puffy. The room was very clean. Not sure how old this location is but in the hall the carpet is beginning to show signs of wear. Several entrances to other rooms had frayed strings of carpet in front of their doors and in front of the elevators the carpet actually had a bubble that could be a tripping hazard. Our toilet ran all night but we just closed the door and couldn't hear it at all. We opened our window for fresh air and noticed the screen was a little loose. Although we were not able to stay for the breakfast, I was able to run down for some juice and a muffin. The juice was cold, refreshing and delicious and the muffin was very moist, also delicious. If we return to this area, this would definitely be a location we would not hesitate to stay at again.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet area ask for 4th floor on an end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. With our rooms remodeled in 2011 and 2012 our hallway carpet is on our Capital List for this year. We certainly appreciate the feedback our guests give us. We look forward to having you with us in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located immediately north of the toll road and on the main street between South Bend, IN and Niles, MI. It is only minutes away from Notre Dame and St. Mary's, you can easily walk to numerous restaurants, rooms are large and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Those are the positives. On the downside, the room we had was very noisy as we could hear conversations from the room next to us, noise from the stairwell on the other side of our room, and noise from the room above as well. We also had trouble getting decent temperature regulation from the heater (controls directly on the heating unit -- no thermostat) and our shower drain was very slow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishAyes8490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I would like to compliment your entire staff on an excellent recent stay. From the moment we arrived, we were treated warmly and with respect. In fact, I would say it was almost like a family. I have never felt so welcomed at a hotel, like your staff was truly glad we were there. The room was spotless, and the pool & hot tub were wonderful. Your lobby was pleasant and comfortable, like a home setting. We have stayed at many Choice Hotels both in Michigan, and across the country, and I must say the Comfort Suites University Area stands out from the rest.

We particularly loved the Dunkin' Donuts on the breakfast buffet, what a treat! I was almost going to walk over there to buy one because we never get them any more, but I didn't need to! They are hand delivered hot and fresh from the location next door. There are many other restaurants nearby that are family-friendly, including Steak n' Shake & Perkins.

There is also an excellent airport shuttle. The airport is about 5 miles or 15 minutes away. But this is where all the airline crews stay. So that tells you this must be one of the better hotels in town. It was kind of fun to share a shuttle with the pilots and the flight attendants from the flight we had just been on. All in all, an excellent place to stay for family travel or business.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindylynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have stayed here about 6 times over the past few years while traveling on business. Weather it's business or pleasure, this is THE hotel to stay at while in South Bend. Great front desk staff and the rooms are very clean and comfy. If you need wi-fi, the signal in the room is 2nd to none. Many hotels have spotty connections, not here. Breakfast will get you up and running for the day. Will be stopping here more this year. Almost forgot to mention the pool and spa...AHHHH, so relaxing!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKmike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed there a couple of nights over the holidays (12/24/12 - 12/26/28) while traveling with my dog, and I really enjoyed it. The staff at reception were very friendly and went out of their way to help me when I needed help. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. (I had the queen bed with sofa.) The facilities were well-maintained and very clean. I would definitely return to this hotel the next time I'm in South Bend!

Please note that the review posted on Expedia on 12/28/12 by "a verified traveller" was mine but intended for a different hotel. Expedia have advised that their website doesn't have the functionality to allow a user to remove or change a post after the fact. This is very surprising but mostly unfortunate for Comfort Suites as I meant to give them this excellent review!

Room Tip: If you have a pet with you, request one of the first floor rooms by the side exit. However, I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GorillaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 30 in South Bend
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: $96 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing