We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare on Dixie Highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I needed a place to stay for three nights in a row. Chose this location for the price and proximity to campus. Well that old adage you get what you pay for is not a cliche. The owner was weird and peeked around at the guests eating breakfast as if to say "Don't take another roll." The coffee was weaker than a newborn fawn. I am still trying to figure out where did he get it.

In the room, you could actually see the dust hanging on the shades and drapes. The carpet was musty, shower tub was nasty, everything nasty. The heating unit was also too hot and loud; needs a cycling shutoff. I would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just perfect rest stop enroute to Carlisle, Pa. Warm greeting on arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Great rate. " King Gyros" next door does a great job for sandwich and soda. The TV worked just fine. The facility was quiet, the bed was good, room was warm and a good nights sleep was to be had. Up bright and early, coffee & muffin in lobby, good wishes for a safe trip at check out and off to I-80 east. Yes , I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This motel is on a highway near Notre Dame so there are lots of nearby services. But the rooms were small, almost European sized, with several delayed maintenance problems such as sink faucet too far back, yellowed caulk around the tub, worn rugs, and others. Nothing disastrous but something to which the management should attend. The cold breakfasts were minimal with few choices, perhaps because there were only a handful of guests. Only a lobby copy newspaper. I’d consider staying here again, but only if nothing else were available.

Room Tip: Notre Dame College is nearby and it’s nice to drive through. But have a detailed college map because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stay here every time we come to South Bend for a football game, Rick is very helpful and always ask if he can do anything to help out with as far as taxi service or tickets to games. The rooms are very clean and the lobby is also which is a indication of what the rooms will look like.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I went here with pretty low expectations but the hotel still managed to disappoint us. Everything is pretty run-down. If you get a double room for $65 or less including taxes then probably it is ok. Breakfast was unusually poor and the coffee just bad. Sorry, can´t recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallodori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean rooms with a fridge and cool air-conditioner - Very nice people at front desk. My mom was with us and she is very picky and she said she slept well. We ordered pizza and it came right to our door. Also, the people at the front desk were helpful with knowing where to go to church on Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dscooper1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped here late at night on a road trip to see friends in Buffalo and the property appeared to be clean and well kept. The room did smell a little musty but otherwise clean and the king sized bed was a nice luxury for me and my wife. The people in the next room were up very late and their TV was loud so we could hear it but we were so tired we went to sleep anyway. The walls are not sound proof obviously. The breakfast was simple with cereal but they did have a waffle maker and that was nice. I'd stay here again for the price it was adequate for a stop off the Interstate.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank phoggy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 30 in South Bend
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#21 of 30 in South Bend
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.4 mi away
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 425 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: $57 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing