We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
29
39
18
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
39
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightroom was cleanstayed herenotre damefuture tripswould stay againbudget hotelenglish muffincerealbendfridgecorridorlodging
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 95 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We wanted a place to stay overnight while traveling to our final destination. We chose this location because of price and other favorable reviews. It was over 100 degrees the evening of our stay. The AC was not working properly in our room. We talked to the manager and he immediately put us in a different room. He personally made sure the air was working. it did - we needed a blanket! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in at any hotel chain. I would definitely stay here again. No frills but very clean and a great value for through travelers.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank C4M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthbend, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

C4M2,

We appreciate your review of our hotel, as well as the story! I definitely remember the both of you, even though it’s been months since your stay. Again, we apologize for the air conditioning unit, but we’re glad it all worked out in the end.

Our maintenance staff has been checking our air conditioning and heating units, and we’re constantly upgrading them with new, more efficient machines. We’ve also been replacing our beds – they’re more comfortable than ever! I’m glad you enjoyed your "comfortable" and "very clean" stay and hope to see you again in South Bend.

Warmest regards,
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel fits a nice niche. It isn't a five star property, but it is a cut above a typical value property. For a good price you get a good clean room with a breakfast, and the desk staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawkhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthbend, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hawkhound,

Thank you for your review. I have shared your comments with our entire desk staff. We’re in full agreement with what you said; our property isn’t top-of-the-line, but our standards for cleanliness and service exceed other budget hotels. We hope to see you again at our property and will deliver a “good clean room” for “a good price.”

Warmest regards,
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we needed - a place to stay while traveling. The room wasn't overly large, but it was extremely clean and it was exactly what we needed for sleeping. The other reviews were accurate on what to expect - no fancy amenities, but the price that reflects that. Breakfast was minimal. Owner was so very polite and gracious. Will definitely consider this for future trips to/through the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeganLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthbend, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

MeganLD,

We were very happy to read your comments – that the hotel was “extremely clean” and “exactly what we needed.” I’ve shared the review with our housekeeping staff and management, and we will continue to maintain our high standards for cleanliness and customer service. We are also working to expand our breakfast selections while keeping our prices low. I appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again when you’re back in town.

Warmest regards,
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have stayed here before and find the inn to be a very reasonable place to stay. Rick, the owner, is very personable and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 66Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthbend, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

66Travelor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in a review. We appreciate your comments about the inn being “a very reasonable place to stay,” and I’m glad that you found me helpful. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to South Bend!

Warmest regards,
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great place to stay right off the turnpike for anyone traveling along the I-80 corridor; it is far enough away from Chicago to keep the traffic (and price down)--we paid just over $50 for everything for our one queen room. Very clean, bathrooms nice, service good. Recommended over many of the competitors nearby where you will pay twice as much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cacksammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisouthbend, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for taking your precious time to review our property. We
are glad you had a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to your next
visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews