We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Bargain”
Review of Hacienda

Hacienda
Ranked #102 of 296 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Bargain”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group of 12 people from our YMCA Water Aerobics Class went to Hacienda on Miami St. for
lunch today. We made no previous arrangements, and were able to be seated and served very
quickly. Our server, Stephanie, was wonderful. She made sure that we had our fresh chips and
salsa immediately, and then proceeded to take our drink orders, and made sure we had ice water, too.
She checked with each person to see who would on each ticket, and proceeded to bring us our
drinks very quickly. It is $2.00 Tues., for glasses of frozen margaritas. Hacienda has excellent
margaritas, and various flavors.
There is a special lunch menu that offers meals for $4.99. I ordered the Rice Bowl with shredded
pork. It was a bowl of rice, beans, cheese, and pork. Very good, and a variety of sauces can
be selected. I chose the apricot chipotle which was nice, and had a little heat.
My lunch partner chose the Tortilla Soup, and said it was delicious.
Everyone at our table enjoyed their lunch.. The service was excellent. Thank you, Stephanie.
Our tab with 4 margaritas, hot chips, and salsa, and our lunch selections...came to $20.00.
What a bargain!!!! We liked the fact that our server also let US decide what the gratuity should be
and did not tack on the average 18% for tables with larger groups.
We all left happy, and satisfied, and look forward to our next group luncheon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I stopped here while visiting Notre Dame. It was a Monday evening and we weren't having any luck finding restaurants that were open. We stumbled upon this and were happy we did. The portions were huge and the nachos yummy. Our server was so pleasant and the manager even insisted we try their new dessert item even though we had already ordered fried ice cream. Both were delicious! It's a big restaurant that can seat many and seems very family friendly. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hskrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap drinks awful food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Margaritas were only $4 that was the best thing about this "restaurant." The server was polite and efficient. But, this was not enough to overlook the substandard food. The salsa was shockingly sweet and tasted like ketchup. The fish tacos came with cold tortillas and the rice was undercooked. Do not go here to eat. But, do go to enjoy cheap cocktails.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne5880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We eat here frequently. They offer good Mexican style food at very reasonable prices. Many good food choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the queso blanco, but that is it.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband is Mexican, and I love spicy food. He tolerates this place, but I find the rice to be like it is out of a package, not like my mother-in-law's, and the food is just salty, not flavorful. Only go there to socialize. The Queso Blanco is the one thing they do right.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing