We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”

O'Rourke's Public House
Ranked #15 of 296 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: O'Rourke's Public House is a locally owned Irish bar located across from the beautiful University of Notre Dame. With a fantastic family friendly atmosphere, a large patio overlooking the home of the Fighting Irish, two full bars, and great late night options, O'Rourke's is the perfect spot for drinks with friends, fans, and family. Check out our weekly pub activities: Trivia(Monday), Karaoke(Tuesday), Opinionation(Wednesday), Mike Brey Radio Show or Brian Kelly Radio Show(Thursdays during season).
AZ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had good food. No problems. This restaurant has an Irish pub theme. Many menu items are Irish themed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstLadyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    95
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great menu and local micro brewery selections. Ample outdoor seating for groups of any size. Very friendly staff at a perfect campus location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DHawk455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Irish Charm in South Bend”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Driving through South Bend and taking a short side tour onto the Notre Dame campus, this restaurant - a block from the college's main entrance - seemed like a good option. We were not disappointed.

With the look of an irish pub from the outside, along with the more traditional strip mall neighbors, the entrance was attractive. The main attraction appears to be their bar, and with age restrictions, our family, with a daughter under the age of 21, were whisked away to the back rooms, separate from the prime areas. There were still two Televisions running in the small back area we were in, but there seemed to be more options around the bar.

Food was good, with a surprise delivery of marshmallow dipping sauce for the sweet potato fries, with good portions and friendly service. Our meals included the Bangars and Mash, which was a large portion, with onions included with the bangars; a buffalo chicken sandwich (very large), and a grilled chicken club - which were supposed to include bangers on that as well, but my wife opted to go without them (which made for a more meager sandwich).

Nothing wrong with the venue, but not of a caliber to justify a 5 star review

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Irish food right outside of Notre Dame”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Looking for a place to eat near Notre Dame; we found this Irish Pub off Eddy Street. The restaurant was set up like a bar with high tables and high stools. Food selections included burgers, irish stew, salads, boxty selection and ales and irish brews. My friend had a Guinnes stew that was good and I had a burger that was ok. It seems to be a popular place for the college students.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,152 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Good Pub”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Close to Unversity of Notre Dame. Diverse menu - good food. We just had salad and sandwich- reasosble prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Rourke's Public House also viewed

 

Been to O'Rourke's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing