We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center for history review”
Review of The History Museum

The History Museum
Ranked #8 of 53 things to do in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A stately Victorian mansion with original furnishings and stunning woodwork is the highlight of this museum complex, which also includes a children's museum, a gallery of Notre Dame history and an exhibit that chronicles the history of the St. Joseph River Valley. Our museum is also physically connected to the Studebaker National Museum. You can now visit two museums in one place!
South Bend, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Center for history review”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I liked the service and the people were very nice. They also had very interesting things to learn about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Girlie1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice combination with the Studebaker museum.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I think that most visitors end up here because of the Studebaker museum. It's well worth the extra couple of bucks to get in. They have rotating exhibits and the one we saw was on turn of the century medical devices. Scary stuff but very interesting. Included is a tour of the Oliver House. Mr. Oliver made his fortune in farm equipment and built a huge mansion. It was lived in until 1987 when it was turned over lock stock and barrel to the museum. You can now tour it and see what an amazing home this was. We didn't see everything but what we did was well laid out and informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The Oliver Mansion is one of the finest house Museums in the country”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped by the Center for History to see the Gizmo's and Concoctions exhibitiion which was interesting, but the highlight of our visit was the tour of the Oliver Mansion. The mansion is beautiflly maintained and fully furnished. Our tour was conducted by Patrick, a very knowledgable volunteer who conducted a one hour tour and provided a great deal on information on both the mansion and the Oliver family. If you enjoy touring historic homes and mansions don't miss this one, it is stunning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour of the Oliver Mansion”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

While most cities have house museums and history museums, South Bend has a combined house/history museum. The star attraction is the tour of the Oliver Mansion (known as Cop-sha-holm) which is possibly the best house museum I have ever seen. Although the house was built in the 1890's, it was lived in by the family until the 1970's, and was given to the city with all its contents at that time. They wisely decided to display the house as they got it, with items from all time periods, rather than trying to take it back to one early time period. The result is a house museum that feels like real people lived in it. It's got bits of many eras, like most our our houses. Our tour guide for the house was Ken, and he was great... enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and opinionated about the house. They take you through most of the house, unlike some stingy house tours that only hit a few rooms. Because the tour was about an hour long, most of our group bailed out on the tour of the "workers' house" that followed, but it is also worthwhile, and does not take long.
The second part of the museum is the South Bend history section, which I found very good also. It included a good video about the history of african-americans in northern Indiana and southern Michigan. We also visited an interesting temporary exhibit about patent medicines and cures.
I plan to go back to this museum. We had been at the Studebaker Museum a few years ago and didn't want to do two museums (and their entrance fees) on one day, but I wish now we had not waited so long to get back. Don't delay if you enjoy house museums or Indiana history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Extradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“learning experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

my kids and I always learn something new that we missed from our previous visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jreddogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History Museum also viewed

 

Been to The History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing