We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit”

Studebaker National Museum
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel through over a century of transportation history. See the rise of the Studebaker Corporation from its beginnings in small South Bend Blacksmith Shop. Admire over 50 vehicles which tell the Studebaker story and display iconic styling.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not simply a museum for Studebaker autos, but an opportunity to see the development of transportation since the mid nineteenth century. Since our last visit, there have been changes in which vehicles were showcased for display -- and which were relegated to the visible storage in the basement. Unfortunately, those in the basement have only minimal signage -- with prototypes identified by the year they were built, but not their envisioned year of production. Bring a camera with a powerful flash, as the displays on the main floors tend to be dark, with hot spotlights.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    102
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Let's walk down Memory Lane”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband saw the ad in the South Bend tourist magazine and said that we have to go here. I do remember Studebakers, as my father had one, and he said his father worked at his local dealership with his father.
The museum is in a complex with two other museums, one, a beautiful mansion, which sadly, we couldn't get to see because of time constraints, and a local History museum, along with the Notre Dame Marching Band collection.
Seeing the Studebaker carriage that took President Lincoln to Ford's theatre was sad. They had Lafayette's and President Grant's carriages, too. A car from the "Muppet Movie" are also shown. This, along with the cars from various eras.
This car company sure made some great little cars! Go see it for yourself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped by the Studebaker Museum while we were in town for the Notre Dame vs Temple game. I was surprised to see how many cars were here. You learn the whole history of the company and are able to see how it went from horse carriages to the early cars, right up until the last Studebaker that was built in the mid 60's and is on display here. There are 3 floors of display's that are sure to give even a mild old car enthusiast a good 3 hours of entertainment. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great car museum”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Since this was one of our family cars in my childhood I found it interesting. However, others in our party felt it was a little redundant reviewing many of the same models. Most interesting is seeing the development of the products from horse and carriage, one of which carried President Lincoln, to the first motorized vehicles. Also small area of military vehicles made by the Studebaker motor company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Museum!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great collection of Studebaker carriages and automobiles. Also nice collection of Presidential carriages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studebaker National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Studebaker National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing