We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J.W. Chen's

J.W. Chen's
Ranked #5 of 293 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant! Food was great and the owner came to our table and had a very good conversation with us. She tailored our order very specifically and it was phenomenal. You're missing out if you don't make eating at J.W. Chen's a top priority.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bsneed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    49
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic clean & super friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great fresh food! The owner came and spoke with us, very friendly woman. We even received a complementary dish of crispy beef which was fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything I've read is correct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We drove out of our way to go to JW Chen's in South Bend. Sure enough, Jean sat down at our table, told us the history of the restaurant, and asked us questions about our tastes. Our 17 year old son was so impressed with the experience, he couldn't stop talking about it. Loved every bit of the meal. The setting is a bit like a diner in a strip mall, but the food and overall experience was really, really good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PDWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese Food Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

JW Chen's is a gem in the Michiana area (near Notre Dame campus). Owner Jean Chen personally sits down with you and takes your order and will make specific to your dietery needs if you have any - at no additional cost. The price is great, but the food is amazing! I recommend that you allow Jean to make something special for you rather than ordering from the menu. Everything is fresh and delicious. Try the vinigar fish and the three cup chicken...oh my!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

J.W. Chen's always has the best Chinese food in South Bend (and in my experience, just about anywhere). If you get the chance, eat in the restaurant and ask for a food recommendation from the owner; she is a very sweet lady and hasn't led us astray yet. We take all our visitors here, and eat here as often as we can.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3APA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.W. Chen's also viewed

 

Been to J.W. Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing