We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian cuisine”
Review of ciao's - CLOSED

ciao's
Price range: $20 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The premier Italian Restaurant and Lounge in Indiana, offering unique and authentic Italian cuisine, enjoyable drinks and amazing dessert!
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian cuisine”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Imaginative recipes and excellent ingredients. The chef sometimes stops by. The desserts and cookies are European quality and style. I was surprised such a restaurant exists in a small town like South Bend. South Bend has proven a surprising city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musicandartstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dinner”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I had the best dinner experience recently at Ciao's Lounge.
Our meals were absolutely delicious. The wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. And the atmosphere was excellent - complete with a piano player. I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We came in to town just for a couple days and checked this place out based on the recommendations from Tripvisor. I have to say this place is simply amazing and worth every single penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RjBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant No.# 1”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everything is delicius at Ciao's restaurant!
I am Italian and Ciao's is the real italian restaurant in ALL South Bend. There you can have a genuine and pure Italian food and wine!!!

Such a results are achived thanks to passion of Mrs. Adele in the kitchen and to the careful wine selection done by his husband

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paperonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hello Indeed!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ciao stands for "hello" in Italian, and once you've gone to this restaurant and eaten your meal, you'll never want to say goodbye! The new space, about months old for the restaurant, is unexpectedly decorated in a bit of a modern, fusion flare. But, ignore the decor and look at the menu! The vegetable ravioil which changes weekly, is to die for -- try the asparagus or the artichoke ravioli! The meats and fishes are grilled to perfection, not over done. The Italian bread, baked by the owner, I believe, is authentic. Even the coffee is first rate. Unfortuantely, our service was a bit less than first rate, but if you go for a relaxed Italian meal, you'll be fine. (Hopefully, more attentive service will be saying hello soon!) The owner started as a baker, then caterer, and now has fully bloomed into a restauranteur! And, I for one, say I'm glad she did! Ciao!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing