We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel for visiting NDame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
VA
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel for visiting NDame”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited in July 2013 for a college road trip. Lobby was new, clean and modern. Our room was on the first floor -- two queen beds -- which got the job done well. Beds were comfortable and a very quiet night. The hotel was pretty empty given that we were in the 4th of July doldrums.

The fitness center equipment was new -- I'd add a third treadmill if I had a magic wand. This hotel also has free weights and a pool -- which is nice. I especially was pleased to see that this Fairfield hotel provided earphones for the treadmill workout -- I hope Fairfield Inn keeps that up.

We arrived at about 4pm so I went to grab coffee, but it the coffee station thermos was cold. But no fear, coffee was a short walk away.

Apart from being new and clean, the four stars reflects this hotel's location. It is essentially on the Notre Dame campus. The location cannot be beat. You can drive to the visitor parking lots at Notre Dame or you could easily walk. There is a parking garage next to the hotel -- where a new retail set of stores and bars is conveniently located. We went to The Mark -- which is a restaurant - bar. This development also has a bookstore with a coffee bar in it -- which took care of the afternoon coffee needs.

Because it was a new hotel, the two computers were new as well for boarding passes. But I think the one I was using had an over-active browser/security guard, Yahoo Mail would not load, but Gmail did. Something for the staff to look into.

Staff was friendly. It was an enjoyable stay. Hotel was pretty empty in July -- so a great time to make a visit to Notre Dame if you are checking out colleges.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FredTravelVa,

Thank you for reviewing our property we appreciate all of the feedback we receive. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay. Our technical support is currently looking into the security guards on our business center computers to allow all guests to be able to access email accounts more easily. We apologize that the coffee station was not up to par upon your arrival and will address the matter with our staff to ensure each guest can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee if they choose. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    33
    4
    5
See reviews for
83
24
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for an ND event our daughter was attending. Hotel looks nice from the exterior as well as the lobby, however the room ( # 501) has much to be desired. The layout and size were fine, but the king bed was HORRIBLE ! The bed squeaked and made noise every time you moved and was lumpy. Also, the A/C cycled on and off every 3 minutes - you either were hot and stuffy or freezing. The towels were paper thin - something you would find at a Ramada and the breakfast was just ok at best. We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years and sadly this one falls very short. Wished I was able to give a better review. - T.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the less than desirable stay in room 501, and would like to assure you that we have looked into the matters that you have expressed and have ordered a complete new bed as well as replaced the heating and cooling control panel that was not allowing the unit to provide you with a comfortable consistent temperature. Standards for Fairfield Inn towels have recently changed and we are in the process of upgrading to a fuller and fluffy set of terry for all of our guest rooms, we regret that you did not have the opportunity to experience the new towels. We would greatly like to make up for the less than best experience you and your family received by hopefully having you stay with us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

While I expected to pay a steep premium for a hotel this close to campus, I didn't expect the lackluster, inconsistent service, especially considering I'm a Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member. My family and I stayed here 2 nights in the same week while dropping off/picking up our boys from ND camps. The first stay started with our room to being ready for check in until after 5pm. This was after a half day of driving and watching numerous customers being checked in ahead of us. Did I mention I have Platinum Elite status? We received a discounted rate, so that puts the review above average. The second stay started with an early checking...good. Then for breakfast there was an incomplete buffet. I guess they only provide a full buffet on the weekends. These service experiences are unacceptable regardless of one's status. The location, however, is excellent-walking distance to Eddy St Commons and campus...and why they charge so much. Disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ParkDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear ParkDownUnder,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. It is regretful to hear that you experienced inconsistent service and incomplete breakfast. We are currently in the process of investigating the issues you have expressed and putting corrective action in place so that the instances you have experienced do not occur again. We greatly apologize for the uninspiring stay and would be thrilled to make it up to you and your family.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to fulfill all of the Fairfield Inn Promises for you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for Football Fantasy Camp week. Excellent facility, very clean , efficient staff and across the street from UND. Could be difficult getting rooms during football season due to its proximity to the campus, you can see the stadium. From east side rooms !

Room Tip: Good luck during football season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Mr. Cowan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed the Football Fantasy Camp at Notre Dame. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel. Clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great - my favorites were hot waffles and Del Monte grapefruit slices! Nice breakfast area for hanging out. Location is great - right across the street from Notre Dame and adjacent to a nice little shopping/restaurant area. All of that said, we have been there twice on a non-football weekend and rates were reasonable (I think around $179). I don't think it would be worth football weekend prices (around $400). Yikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backtomaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and are also glad to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast. We strive to ensure your stay was pleasant and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank You again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Most reasonably prices Indiana hotels are worn out as are their staffs
The Fairfield / Notre Dame is a welcome contrast and is very well run!
First it is super clean and the staff is as welcoming and eager to help, one would believe they are in the far eats. Good attitudes.
My two demands for a hotel room are a firm bed and a generous shower They score A+ on both counts
Their rooms are modern and easy to operate. In short you do not need a Ph.D to use the TV or lights.... or shower sounds familiar Hoteliers are going high tech and the guests are FORCED to comply/ suffer.

They are across the street from a good shopping center and a few yards from many restaurants … their breakfast was included in my room rate and was hot and tasty

Hard to complain and I am quite a critic

PTB Honolulu (former Chicago hotelier)

Room Tip: Ask for a room location what serves your needs..in advance and phone if running late and get the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ptb2929,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we appreciate the positive feed back! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay while at our property and gave us an A+ for our beds and showers. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future!

Happy Traveling,

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off, the location is perfect for conducting business or atteniding events at ND. The exterior and lobby was very impressive. As for the rooms, they are very typical or Fairfield Inns. The furniture is fairly worn and I felt the rooms were pretty small. The thing that really blew my mind was the lack of outlets. This hotel opened in 2010 and I know tablets were just coming out then, but laptops, netbooks, and smart phones were prominent in 2010. I am surprised that they did not have more outlets in the room. I stayed there w/ my wife (2 ipads and 2 iphones). We had these devices all of the room (including the bathroom) to ensure we can charge these devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear imabuki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you found our furniture to be worn and that there weren’t enough outlets in your guest room. We know that locating outlets and light switches in guest rooms can be tricky at times with so many different layouts in different properties. For example, the lights on either side of the bed have two outlets located on the base. We are more than happy to help you locate an outlet or light switch, even an extension cord or power strip if needed. We would like to look into the wear on the furniture; if you would contact us on property we will definitely investigate the matter. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your wife in the near future.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing