We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this property earlier this week while traveling through the area. The hotel is very nice, clean, and modern. The staff was especially friendly and seemed happy to serve. My GPS must have been off as it sent me the wrong way. A phone call to Morgan quickly guided me in to a wonderful check-in. The room was great and I had an excellent sleep. Breakfast was just as good as you are able to make your own fresh belgian waffles on their self-serve griddle. Mine came out fantastic and the other items were fine too. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Trip117,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, we love getting all the feed back we can from our guests! We are completely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our breakfast, and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy our NEW HOT breakfast buffet, no worries we are keeping the waffles-we know our guests love them! Thank you again for your review!

Happy Travels,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 2 night at this hotel in March to visit my daughter, at ND. I flew into Midway Airport in Chicago. It's a very easy 2 hour drive, however the address doesn't exist on the GPS. Once I arrived, the check -in was easy and the front desk person was very pleasant. Of course, it wasn't a football weekend so it was relatively empty. The free continental breakfast was better than I had expected. I was on the 5th floor the elevator was fast and the room was big and clean. The hotel is within walking distance to ND campus & football stadium and about 1 block away from restaurants on Eddy Street. I will be back, but probably not on football weekend- very, very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYMom863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Fencingmomx2,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It saddens us that the GPS was not showing our location, and we are sure it caused you some frustration. This is something we continue to work on as maps and technologies get updated. It is lovely that you found our complimentary continental breakfast to exceed your expectations; we are preparing to roll out our NEW HOT BREAKFAST in April. It is something that the staff and management here are very excited to be able to offer our guests. So hopefully the next time that you are in town we will have the opportunity to serve you and your family again, and you can let us know how our New Breakfast is! Thank you again for your review.
Happy Travels,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent two nights here for leisure in February 2013 to attend a sporting event on Notre Dame's campus. This was my fourth overnight trip to South Bend but my first stay at this hotel after staying at other Marriott-family properties nearby.

As most, if not all, other reviewers noted, you cannot beat the location of this hotel for any trip purpose related to Notre Dame, and that is clearly the hotel's main selling point. Located adjacent to the south edge of the Notre Dame campus, you are but minutes' walking time to many of their athletic facilities, including Notre Dame Stadium, the Compton Family Ice Arena, and the Joyce Center. There are several dining options close by in the Eddy Commons complex of which the hotel is a part, and the entirety of the Mishawaka/South Bend area is easily reachable by car.

Public areas of the property are very nicely appointed (the hotel opened in 2010) and are a step up from what I consider the "standard" Fairfield decor. There are also local touches to the decor in both the public areas and the guestrooms. The continental breakfast was standard Fairfield fare but was well-maintained during both mornings. In an unusual twist, the dining area was actually larger than most and is probably the first dining area I've seen in a Fairfield that isn't too small. There is an indoor pool (no whirlpool) (limited hours daily) and exercise room (24 hours) onsite. I don't recall seeing any publicly-available computers, but the in-room Guest Services Guide mentions the front desk will print, copy, and fax things for you (there's no mention of a charge for said services).

My one complaint about the property would have to be the size of the rooms--particularly the King rooms, which, in addition to being small, might also not include bathtubs (mine had only a shower stall--a large one, but only a shower stall nonetheless). As a Gold Elite member, I wouldn't have expected to get placed in a smaller King room were there actually King rooms whose only characteristic difference was that they were larger than what I was in, drawing me to this conclusion. There is barely enough room along the wall for two nightstands, the bed, and a chair, and the chair looks shoehorned into the area, jammed in as an afterthought. I am guessing that most rooms here are double-doubles to accommodate families. In most Fairfields, the size of the King room I'm in here would have been a Queen room.

I did not care for the mattress at all and awoke with a backache on both mornings. Power outlets were plentiful, the complimentary "Hi Speed Lite" wi-fi worked well, and there were a decent number of television stations. The sleeping area of the room was well-maintained, as was the bathroom with the exception of the shower floor, which was dirty. We were in a corner room and heard nothing from anyone immediately above us, with only one brief moment of hearing others in the room next to us early one evening. Staff were wonderful to deal with, from registration to check out.

Given the premium rates one is paying for the location, I may or may not return here for future trips when you consider I can stay in a larger, nicer room at the Courtyard in Mishawaka (3.5 miles away) for perhaps $40-$50 less a night or get a 2-room suite at that Mishawaka Courtyard for just a bit more than what I paid here. I drive to South Bend, so for me, driving to campus is not an issue. Do consider this, but don't let this fact alone dissuade you from staying at this property.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face north, overlooking the Notre Dame campus.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsterben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear jsterben,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our many amenities. We do have a small, but ample, business center located in our main lobby near our meeting space, but are always more than happy to assist with any print, fax or copy needs at no cost.

We are sorry to hear that the size of our guest rooms inconvenienced you, all of our standard rooms are the same square footage and then all of the suites are the same square footage to our knowledge. We will do our best to look into what we can do with the layout of the room to make it more accommodating. Yes, it is true that only a few of our guest rooms have bathtubs, which was a design feature that most of the newer Fairfield Inns have switched to. We would be more than happy to ensure that you are in a room with a bathtub during your next stay, if that is what you prefer.

We would also like to apologize for your uncomfortable sleep due to the mattress in your room as well as the shower floor, if you would please contact us directly we would like to make sure that we get this resolved. We know sometimes because of the tile pattern and color the shower floor can look “dingy” but in any case we definitely want to look into both issues to ensure that each and every room is up to par for you and all guests.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to hear from you soon and also to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your guests in the near future!

Kind regards,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Everything was excellent - Staff, Room, etc. The only thing is that it's tough to find using a Navigation system. For some reason, even though the hotel has been there for about 2 years, the address doesn't exist. Now that I've been there, I'll be easy to find it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarkinBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear HarkinBanks,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all feedback that we receive from our valuable guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. It is displeasing to find that you had difficulty locating us. We are currently in the process of ensuring that all maps and navigation systems have our property loaded correctly. Unfortunately, this is a lengthy process that involves much follow up to ensure that everything is done in a timely manner. We understand that this can be frustrating for our guests, but please know that we are doing everything within our power to ensure the issue is corrected. Thank you again for your review we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Regards,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Probably a tad bit unfair but stayed here for a Notre Dame football weekend. They clearly try their best to manage through these action packed weekends, but at times they struggle. Pretty clear it is a tall task. Do not understand why on weekends in a King room they only put out two sets of towels. And in true Fairfield style they are like paper towel.

Hallways are not very clean and in the common areas of the hotel they struggle. Having said all this for proximity to ND, the football stadium, the campus, the hockey arena, park your car and walk. With the exception of the Morris Inn on campus nothing is more convenient to the key spots on campus. A block away is Eddy Street where some of the newer restaurants in South Bend are located. During football weekends they usually have concerts Friday nights with local bands.

Be prepared to fork out major cash to stay there and I mean large for this hotel. Talking $400 plus and two day minimum. Go figure...but it's full all the time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear BTrun78,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible. We understand that during your recent stay our common areas were not up to par. We strive to ensure that our property is clean and fresh at all times, and are sorry to hear that it was found in an unappealing state. We will continue review our scheduling to ensure that we are well staffed to handle maximum occupancy so that our property is always in an acceptable manner for all of our guests. We are happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your stay at our property despite our common areas. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Happy traveling,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having never been to Notre Dame and not knowing relative distances, I made reservations at this hotel with some hesitation. It turned out that the Fairfield Inn has by far the best location of any local hotels if your trip's objective is ND. It is just across the street from campus and within walking distance to all its main buildings. Ample parking is offered behind the hotel. Rooms are comfortable, spotless and new. Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Raul J,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property, we truly appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and amenities. We hope that you and your family will return again soon! Thanks again and happy travels!

All the best,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an excellent Fairfield with an outstanding location across the street from the Notre Dame Campus and next to Eddy Commons. You can walk anywhere from here and I cant imagine where else one would want to stay while visiting Notre Dame or South Bend. Loved the look and amenities at the hotel and found the staff to be extremely attentive. Parking was also very convenient. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear BlueMarlinDave,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. The staff and I are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are also pleased to know that you were able to take pleasure in our location and many amenities. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you on your trips to the South Bend area! Thank you again for your review! Hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.4 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#6 of 30 in South Bend
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $131 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing