We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Someone finally smiled!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Someone finally smiled!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We've been staying here since just after the hotel opened (on our first stay, Bill Marriott was in the lobby, we assume to check out the new hotel, but also to attend the ND-Utah football game.) While the physical hotel has most often been exceptional, not once has a front desk person smiled or greeted us by name. We always 'put up with it' because one can't beat the hotel location, especially on football weekends. But, much to our surprise, the front desk staff was beaming on our most recent stay. Granted, it was Commencement Weekend and the rates were almost $500 a night, so you would expect an air of friendliness, but I truly believe the smiles were sincere and part of the regular routine. I even received an email thanking us for our stay! It looks like there might be a new manager at the property, and I am ever so thankful for the change. Obviously someone is passing along the friendly gene, and now I can give the hotel the Excellent rating I've been holding off for so long.

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for a room facing the Notre Dame campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank undercoverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love to get all the feedback we can from our guests. We are sorry that we have not met your expectations in the past. We are pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your recent visit. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations and we will continue to work to meet that goal. Thank you again for writing a review for our property. We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    68
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
82
24
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place books up early, so you have to be quick. This is the best location if you're going for a football game. Our son is a student at the university, and this is by far our first choice hotel any time we visit. Easy walk to the campus, especially the stadium.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basquebyproxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you found the hotel right across the street from the campus and hope that you do join us for a future football game. We are also excited that we are number one on your list when you return to this area. Best of luck to your son and we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

we stayed here on a recent college visit.....perfect location...on edge of notre dame campus...can walk to school, a few restaurants etc....very new and clean.....free breakfast in am...rooms very spacious....nicer than some 5 star hotels i have been in!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you found our hotel close and convenient for you. We take pride in knowing that our guests have great access to the Notre Dame campus as well as the Eddy Street Commons, which offers so much more for our guests can walk to. We hope that you enjoyed you tour of the campus and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I am staying in the Fairfield Inn for 2 weeks. I came here to do a series of lectures for Notre Dame. I am not, repeat not, here for family reasons or to watch sports. I need to add that as if you are, your take on this place might be different. So a few things that are positive. The people here in South Bend are AMAZINGLY friendly and that extends to the hotel. Very very nice. However, and there is a however, not terribly efficient and the hotel has some quirks that are work noting. Okay first, the rooms are a decent size, there is free wireless, bathrooms are a good size and the room, itself is grand. If you need to be close to the Notre Dame campus, this is your hotel. The not so good parts, I notified the front desk about a lamplight than needed replacement and a few small things as well as a request for a mini fridge, neither of which was ever replied. The people at the front dest are perhaps students but not well trained, although pleasant. A really annoying part though is the television. they have about 40% of the stations they subscribe to that are just sport. really silly, no one needs 4 ESPN stations! The heating, air conditioning unit is just over the top. It has too fast a fan and you cannot adjust for fan speed so even if you leave it on auto, when it turns on, it really blasts (cold air first and then hot if winter). Hard to really control it. Also room walls are really thin and windows are not great so cars going by are easily heard. So if you need to be in the campus, you might not have another choice but would I say here again, probably not.

Room Tip: avoid facing the road. it is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We like to hear from our guests so we can continue to improve our service to you. Whether it would be through our staff or maintenance we want to ensure that your stay is the best that we can possibly make it. We are glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and approachable, and we do apologize for the issues you experienced with the lamp and the air conditioning unit. We hope you enjoyed your time visiting the campus and hope that we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great location, loved the hotel. We stayed here while visiting freinds, the staff was wondeful but with there was a hot breakfast. Atleast we were able to make waffles! I would tell all my friends to stay here and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel staff. We hope that you and your friends had an enjoyable weekend in South Bend and Notre Dame, dispite the little rain that we had, and we look forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here 1 night for a wedding. The location across from campus can't be beat. Also, right next to the Eddy Street Commons that has shops and restaurants. Free parking and free continental breakfast as well.

Room:
Pros: Clean. Comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Nice shower. Big flatscreen TV.
Cons: Small. Enough room for a desk a chair and the king size bed. Bathroom only had a shower rather than a bath tub (if that matters to you).

Overall, very happy with this hotel as a 2.5 star and the price was right. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Guy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonale H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you felt the room was small, but glad to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities of the room. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay while at our property and that we will have the chance to serve you again in the near future. Thank you again for your time and response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

While I haven't personally stayed at any other hotels in South Bend, I have heard about the lack of quality hotels in South Bend. Thank goodness Marriott opened this property which is great! They upgraded me to a king suite when I checked in which gave me an extra seating area in addition to my room. The room was comfortable and nice. The hotel is on the edge of a newer area with several restaurants and shops nearby which was super convenient. The free breakfast in the morning was great! Parking was no problem and it was just across the street from campus which was really convenient when I was there to recruit at Notre Dame. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and will stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room facing away from the street as I did wake up the 2nd night from noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we absolutely love to hear from our guests on how we are doing and what we can do to continue to improve your visit. We are pleased that you found your complimentary upgrade to your satisfactory but would like to apologize that the noise of the street woke you. Eddy Street Commons continues to grow and we are excited to be part of it. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the campus and other attractions. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for your review and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.4 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing