We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice rooms nearby Notre Dame campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms nearby Notre Dame campus”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

While I haven't personally stayed at any other hotels in South Bend, I have heard about the lack of quality hotels in South Bend. Thank goodness Marriott opened this property which is great! They upgraded me to a king suite when I checked in which gave me an extra seating area in addition to my room. The room was comfortable and nice. The hotel is on the edge of a newer area with several restaurants and shops nearby which was super convenient. The free breakfast in the morning was great! Parking was no problem and it was just across the street from campus which was really convenient when I was there to recruit at Notre Dame. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and will stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room facing away from the street as I did wake up the 2nd night from noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we absolutely love to hear from our guests on how we are doing and what we can do to continue to improve your visit. We are pleased that you found your complimentary upgrade to your satisfactory but would like to apologize that the noise of the street woke you. Eddy Street Commons continues to grow and we are excited to be part of it. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the campus and other attractions. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for your review and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
24
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Arrived with my three children to check in for our stay at Notre Dame. We were going to the Notre Dame Basketball game that night.

The hotel is new, clean, and the staff was well attentive. The best part of this place is that it is right next to Eddy Street Commons where there is shopping, an official Notre Dame bookstore and places to eat.

The view from my room was of the football stadium and the basketball arena. It was a short walk to the basketball arena as this hotel borders the south side of the campus.

They also had a nice complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on the north side of the hotel to see the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastFlightOut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review!! We are so thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property. It is one of our promises to make you feel welcome and provide service that makes you want to return. Clearly we were able to fulfill that pledge for you and your family. We hope the next time you are in town we have the opportunity to serve you again. The Eddy Street Commons area next door is still developing so the next time you visit there may be some new stores to visit. Thank you again for your review we hope you and your family have many more pleasant adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is very new - maybe 2 years old. It is located just off the Notre Dame campus past the parking lots for the stadium and Joyce Center. Just a 5-10 minute walk to either. Close to ND off-site bookstore, restaurants and bars. Nice hotel, nice furnishings and very comfortable beds. Very helpful staff. Free continental breakfast available. Free parking. Free wireless internet in each guest room. We haved stayed there 4 times and will go back again when visiting campus.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of all of complimentary amenities and services. It is our promise to make you feel welcome and provide services that make you want to return. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay while at our property and that we will have the chance to fulfill that promise again in the near future. Thank you again for your time and encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent 2 nights here on a slow weekend in South Bend, the rooms were clean and the lobby was friendly for hanging out in a large group. It's walking distance to Notre Dame, lots of restaurants, and a short drive to groceries. Breakfast at this hotel was typical except for the do-it-yourself waffle irons, which were a nice change (yum!). In-room lighting was nice, and the flat-screen TV helped us unwind. Two tiny gripes: our coffee supplies in the room were not replenished for the 2nd morning, and the towels seem cheap. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kslaboch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We love hearing the opinions of all of our valued guests! Thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing. We would like to apologize for manner in which you found the quality of towels, and that the daily coffee replenishment had been over looked. We strive to give you a room that is clean, fresh, and reflects the highest quality standards. Unfortunately, we have fallen short in this case, but have every intention of ensuring to fulfill that promise going forward. We are happy to hear that you and your family we able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed our lobby areas. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of accommodating you and your family again soon. Once again thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Got this room as a $40 Priceline bid. The hotel was modern and clean, the employees were friendly and helpful, the Internet reception was strong, the parking was convenient, and breakfast was good. The Notre Dame campus is across the street and some rooms face the stadium.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha D, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were able to get such a great deal during this holiday season. It is wonderful to know that you were able to take advantage of the property’s many amenities. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites, we strive to make you feel welcome and ensure that you would want to return. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you, again for your kind words of encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a Navy vs Notre Dame football game. Had a suite type room on 5th floor. Walk in bath on right with a large shower. Next area is a couch and chair, desk with a large flat screen tv. Next area is a queen bed, window, chest and another large flat screen tv. Lots of light in bedroom area. Bedding covered with white sheets and 5 pillows. Everything was nice except lighting in bathroom, fluorescent lights make women look garish. Bring your own mirror and use natural lighting by window. Bed was comfortable and liked 5 pillows. Looked like extra bedding in closet (covered in zippered bags). Pricing very high for football weekends. But right across stadium and new hockey complex. Also within walking to lots of restaurants, bars and shops. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathryn_sill, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed and kind review of our hotel. The Eddy Street Commons continues to grow and we are excited to be in the middle of it. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the campus and other attractions. We hope to see you again next year for another exciting football season. Thank you, again, for the review.

Go Irish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I spent one-night at this Fairfield for a business event on the Notre Dame Campus. I can safely say it is right at the top of the list of Marriott properties I have used for business travel, this is inclusive of full-service Marriott's and Courtyard by Marriott.
The hotel is part of a new development just south of Notre Dame Stadium called the Edy Street Commons. There are already a number of restaurants within walking distance and it looks like more is planned. As far as convenience to Notre Dame, it doesn't get much better, it was a short 10-15 minute walk to the center of campus.
The rooms are nicely decorated and as others have indicated the staff is very friendly.
My only complaint is that for a newer hotel, it would have been nice to have central a/c versus a window unit as those are always noisier and never regulate the temperature as well. But if business brings me back to South Bend, staying here again is a no brainer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan L, Sales Coordinator at Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.4 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Address: 1220 E Angela Blvd, South Bend, IN 46617-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in South Bend
#7 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame is designed with convenience and comfort in mind. Ideally located Notre Dame Indiana hotels, this hotel is across the street from campus. Free onsite parking and BBQ area make the perfect environment to host your next tailgate before walking over to Notre Dame Stadium to watch Fighting Irish football games. Guests love to start their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and then spend the day at nearby attractions such as University Park Mall, The College Football Hall of Fame, and The Morris Performing Arts Center. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, Marriott Luxury Bedding, and flat-screen HD TVs. The Fairfield Inn South Bend at Notre Dame offers all the amenities you want and the ideal location nearby Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend At Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Fairfield Inn And Suites South Bend At Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing