We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest 4.7 rating. Casual - but formal dining. Oxymoron, I know.”
Review of Sorin's

Sorin's
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorin's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 295 Restaurants in South Bend
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Angela Blvd
Transit: "The Sweep" making rounds daily, stopping just north of the Inn at the circle.
Description: Sorin's, our classic fine dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, offers you seasonally changing menus and the finest wines in an atmosphere of quiet elegance. Sorin's is now serving Sunday brunch from 11am to 2pm. Sorin's features an incredible selection of fresh seafood alongside many of our signature dishes. Besides its beautifully appointed dining room, Sorin's offers an intimate private room for groups of up to 14 guests in the Quinn Family Room. Sorin's also features selections from the wineries of Notre Dame graduates. Our monthly Wine Dinners showcase an esteemed alumnus working in viniculture.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An honest 4.7 rating. Casual - but formal dining. Oxymoron, I know.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

CLOSED for Major Renovation: October 22, 2012 – early August, 2013.
Hints of a promise not to change the things that count. I believe them.
Fine dining.
Impeccable. No dress code, but one of those places one feels should have one. If you go in too casual, you might feel a touch uncomfortable. I had on jeans and a polo shirt and felt fine. My teenage son in shorts and t-shirt did not.
A short, adequate, and very enticing menu that changes often. Family ordered all over it and everything was scrumptious. Not quite Nuevo cuisine, but portions were in the small half of medium size. I did not leave hungry.
Complimentary breakfast (Morris Inn) was off the menu and very ample and good. I wanted (expected) bottomless OJ. Didn’t get it. Breakfast ‘meats’ were full size three piece portions. Coffee was very good with a carafe left on the table.
I await their re-opening so I can go back!

While seated a gentleman rose from the next table handed us a $30 diner gift certificate for friends of his who couldn't make it. And after diner we were perusing the campus map and another gentleman came from his table to offer assistance. All of them took time to encourage our son. Dumb luck? I think not. It's a special Notre Dame attitude that permeated our entire campus visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing, diners from all across the US and beyond!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food and service is always very good. A changing menu seasonally, with fresh ingredients, and presented beautifully. They are soon to undergo a remodeling so it will be sure to be even more enjoyable when finished. ND does it well!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakpark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love it for special ocassions”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family dines out often but usually modestly. However, for special ocassions in South Bend, Sorin's is our number one choice. The service is impeccable, matching the decor. My parents prefer traditional upscale American food, we prefer a range of cuisines but we always agree that we can all find something we like a lot at Sorin's. Even with a large group, you can hear one another talking while not hearing your neighbors! It is worth the experience after they reopen later this year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shira-eliora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Service and attention to detail here are wonderful. This shows in the quality of service and the food. Always a great experience from beginning to end.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcgillicutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great relaxing find”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We Visit every year and are never disappointed. Great, fresh food and wonderful service....love it

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOsnow-gottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorin's also viewed

 

Been to Sorin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing