We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked Good on the Surface, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Central, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looked Good on the Surface, but....”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Hotel was solid on the night my husband and I stayed. Check in was at 3:00 pm and the room was not available. This was an issue as we had a formal dinner to attend just several hours later. When I was able to get into my room it was clean. It did look very nice and the bed was comfortable. Upon waking we noticed issues with the hot water; It lasted all of about two minutes. As I was dressing and preparing to leave, water started pouring out of the air exhaust vent that was positioned almost directing over the toilet. We tried to call and notify the front desk and no one answer the phone. As we left the room water was still dripping from the vent. We decided that it was just better to checked out, this was 8:30am. We did not stay for the continental breakfast, but it didn't look to be anything more then what is typically offered at every other hotel. We reported the issue with the front desk clerks and they made no note of the issue nor did they call anyone while we were standing there. There was definitely a severe lack of management of several levels at this facility! No attempt to offer any compensation for the inconveniences that we suffered were made. Apologies were given and the excuse included, "We are sorry we had a lot of people check out", "I don't knot what happened, it was just crazy yesterday", "I am sorry we do not have a manager available. "To top this whole thing off, there were billing issues. I was told that I would receive an email receipt of my payment when a manager was available to take care or it; needless to say I have received nothing. The rooms are advertised at 69$, but I was charged $123. If you do the math that is $54 worth of taxes and incidentals. Beware when you book a room at this facility. Poor management!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlynnvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    82
    33
    30
    41
See reviews for
118
49
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tried to check in early (noon) and couldn't - no problem. Came back at 3:00, the normal check in time and the rooms still weren't clean. There were several of us there for an event where we needed to change into dinner outfits and be back by 4:00. One or two of our group of 10 got into rooms and then the rest of us had to change in their rooms because none of the other rooms in the hotel were clean and ready for guests.

Mind you, we all had reservations, the hotel knew we were coming and their check out time was 11:00. We were told there were lots of rooms to clean and only three housekeepers (who were all on a break at that time) - I'm sorry, but that's not MY fault. Before each person could check in, the girl at the front had to physically go to check to see if there was a room clean and available.

After our dinner there were still issues with rooms not being clean - this was 8:30 p.m. and after! Overnight at least one room flooded and there were multiple issues with hot water and water pressure (neither existed).

To top it all off, they tried to charge all 60 of the rooms blocked off for our event to one person, even though we had all checked in separately. We were told that only the manager could correct the problem in the computer and they had called him (at 9:00 a.m.) and he was on his way. When we checked out about 10:30 there was still no manager. We were given temporary receipts and told that they would bill the credit card they had on file at a later time. Do you think any of us trusted they could do that correctly?

They were obviously not prepared for dealing with the large number of people. The girls at the front desk were nice enough but not able to do anything to rectify problems. There was no manager of any kind the entire weekend.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Newly remodeled rooms. Clean, spacious, friendly staff. Indoor pool, and exercise room. Surprised us by having a snack for us in the room. Nice surprise after a long day on the road.
Breakfast just a little better than most offered.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cruizerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in on Friday 8/30/13. There was 2 adults and 2 children, we were in town for the Notre Dame Football game. The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel itself was clean. The only problem was that the next morning there was no hot water for showers. Other then that the hotel was fine and was about 5 miles from the stadium. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Without wheels and I knew this motel was the closest place to the airport so when I called and got the price I did not even call anywhere else to see who might have had a good price and a shuttle. I just grabbed a sandwich at the airport and walked over. I could not see anyplace within walking distance so it would have been delivery.

WOW … see photo’s (all photo’s are from the same room)

WOW

IMO, this room could meet the standards of every motel I have ever stayed at ... right up to the Hyatt, Hilton and Westin.

I make a lot of comments in my reviews about ‘overpriced’ motels for the working person … no complaints here. Their walk-in rate is less than I paid for a ‘6 the night before and there is NO comparison … other than they both met my basic needs of clean, quiet and temp controlled.

Had to leave an hour before breakfast but it looks like a huge spread from the layout.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice hotel. The entire place is practically brand new and comparable to staying at a Hampton Inn. Friendly staff overall and a decent price. The hotel is oddly away from the tollway and not easy to get to; however, is located next to the airport for travelers flying in and needing to stay. Overall - great stay and nice price.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet; recommend the rooms nearest the hallway exits. They have solid wood floori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was very nice. We picked because we had the dogs. The girls at the front desk could not more friendly. We thought the place was very, very clean. The outside area was spotless and the building was bright and welcoming. The pool area looked very inviting. We did not use the pool since we were only there for one night. The beds were awesome and very comfy. I could not be more pleased with this place after reading some bad reviews...but you no how that goes you cannot please everyone no matter what you do.....we would certainly stay again without a doubt....

Room Tip: Room was great if you have dogs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank careittopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#11 of 29 in South Bend
135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
3.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Address: 23040 Lincolnway West, South Bend, IN 46628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly remodeled La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend Hotel, our goal is to make your stay convenient and stress free. Unwind with a relaxing swim in our indoor heated pool, or take advantage of our fitness room for a great workout. Our business center is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, and our pantry is available when you need that something extra. There is also an on-site laundry facility as well. Each guest room offers comfy beds, flat screen HD TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board, premium cable channels, data port phones, free high speed internet and free local calls, because we want you to feel right at home. After you enjoy a restful night at our South Bend, IN hotel, join us for our free Bright Side Breakfast, with "Make Your Own Waffles," hot and cold cereal, bread and muffins, fresh fruit, pastries and bagels, and all of the coffee that you can drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing