We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect over nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect over nighter”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

A perfect stop over. The room was quaint and clean, flat screen tv, nice window seat, clean bathroom, free wi fi and a nice clean area for the free breakfast. There was nothing wrong with this place and it was spotless.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eb19_Son29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    228
    137
    68
    43
See reviews for
289
133
90
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We chose this Microtel because of it's location - near to University of Notre Dame. We have stayed at Microtels on other holidays, and we've not been disappointed but unfortunately we were a bit disappointed.

The carpeting in the hallways, elevator and leading into our room was dirty with ugly black patches. The carpet in the elevator was covered with another rug perhaps to hide the stains. Not a very welcoming first impression.

Other than that our room was adequate with the 2 queen sized beds. Compared to other hotels we stayed at during our summer holiday, the carpeting in this particular room appeared to be older and perhaps that's why it looked dirty. The counter top also appeared to be dusty.

The linens on our beds appeared clean as were the towels and bathroom area.

Breakfast was your usual complimentary breakfast unfortunately, the coffee had coffee grinds and there was no bread offered to make toast.

Should I be travelling in this area in the future, I would choose one of the other newer hotels down the street and pay the extra few dollars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJO329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Standard, no frills motel (there is a small workout room). Clean. Friendly staff. Good value but nothing special. Clerk recommended a good Thai restaurant in town (the "Siam").

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winefishhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My family and I arrived after midnight and we were treated fairly well. We got a good rate on two joined rooms. My only complaint is the continental breakfast. We got down to breakfast at about 7 am and there were no chairs left for us so we ended up eating our breakfast in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A good value property if you're looking for clean basic accommodations. This property appears to be recently refurbished.

Check-in was a breeze. However the front desk clerk was fairly new and couldn't figure out how to switch the credit card used on my reservation with a different one. The manager stepped in to show her how to do it.

Our room with a queen bed was fine. The mattress was a bit soft for my taste. Nice flat screen TV. Bathroom linens were OK. Good water pressure in the shower. Wireless worked fine.

The free breakfast was the usual self-serve waffle maker, toast, dry cereal, fruit, muffins and yogurt. Starbucks House blend coffee was pretty good.

No real complaints. It's not the Ritz - but for $55/night, a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Booked online through Expedia. Location was important, and I paid $100 a night three weeks ago to stay at the Ramada downtown (don't recommend). This was an important trip and I wanted to make sure my room was reserved, so I called in the morning and found out that it was; and, for the hell of it I said I may be a 5 night a month resident (which is true), and asked for a complimentary upgrade. I was told that probably wouldn't be possible over the phone and that was fine. When I arrived, I did get the upgrade!

Staff was very friendly and accomodationg. Only drawback is the hotel houses travelling NCAA atheletes and can be pretty noisy at night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detroitbatteryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised! Clean, big room with a flat screen TV. Only drawback was distance to restaurants - they were a good 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#17 of 29 in South Bend
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Address: 222 S Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#9 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hotel South Bend
Microtel Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing