We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little restaurant”

Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens
Ranked #9 of 297 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Indiana's most nationally recognized restaurant - 28 years AAA Chicago Four Diamond and 30 years Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence." Formal Main Dining housed within historical 1851 building featuring the freshest farm-to-table foods and extensive fine wine list. Michiana's premier outdoor fine-dining facility, ALFRESCO FINE DINING & GARDENS, featuring a wood fire oven, patio seating adjacent to outdoor stage exhibiting local musicians every weekend during summer. Two Excellent Venues - One Superb Restaurant!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My honey and I loved this restaurant. Yes, it was pricey, but it was one of the nicest dining experiences I've had. The ambience is delightful; the service impeccable; the food very good to excellent. We started with a comfortable and enjoyable chat with the bartender at the tiny and cozy bar while we waited for our table and were immediately taken with the charm of the Carriage House. We had a long and leisurely dinner and enjoyed ourselves immensely before going to the Morris Theatre for a play (which we were almost late for, but not because of the restaurant - we were just having such a nice time!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indplsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    33
    14
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

There are some great restaurants in this area but the Carriage House is our favorite. The setting is intimate and elegant, the wait staff is attentive and personable, and the owner is a delight, but it is the food that makes this place a treasure. The menu offers creative seasonal selections as well as traditional favorites made from the finest quality ingredients that taste divine and their wine selection is outstanding. It is an exceptional dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was recently taken to dinner there. The place was originally, many years ago, a church and has unique features including the garden area and an area in the rafters where a jazz band plays on occasion. The menu has a broad variety of items and every dish was beyond excellent. I had the lamb, delicious, and the other people with me had a variety of dishes, including the fish, and everyone agreed it was outstanding. The deserts were outstanding; you cannot miss trying one. However it is expensive. It is a family run restaurant and that is reflected in the attention to service. In addition, there is unique artwork on the walls, all of which dates back nearly a century and is for sale.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank woolyFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Local hotel recommend this restaurant. Food is tasty,price reasonable...overall good exprience. would recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country charm marries city sophistication!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Carriage House does it all. It serves up a professional, caring staff, fresh and original food creations, fine wines, crisp and elegant table decor, stunning floral, and intimacy with special touches. Go! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing