We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesnt get any better then this in South Bend”

Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens
Ranked #7 of 294 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Indiana's most nationally recognized restaurant - 28 years AAA Chicago Four Diamond and 30 years Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence." Formal Main Dining housed within historical 1851 building featuring the freshest farm-to-table foods and extensive fine wine list. Michiana's premier outdoor fine-dining facility, ALFRESCO FINE DINING & GARDENS, featuring a wood fire oven, patio seating adjacent to outdoor stage exhibiting local musicians every weekend during summer. Two Excellent Venues - One Superb Restaurant!
chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“doesnt get any better then this in South Bend”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Would highly recommend in the spring in the summer and at Christmas. Enjoy sitting outside in a garden atmosphere on warm nights enjoying appetizers wine and music before going into the old Church for dinner .
Dinner is first class with top of the line entrées etc . This is not a cookie cutter type of place as its totally unique and has its own ambiance . The prices might be a little high but the experience is well worth it !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTomG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    30
    12
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old-school farmhouse luxury”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The demographics: Myself, my best friend, his wife, and their son. Except for the obvious, we're all early 30's.

The setting: Homy, intimate. Comfortable luxury. Relaxed lighting, landscape paintings on the perimeter, open dining space, and plenty of wood. The name really does fit the setting. Exterior is gorgeous once garden season hits. Don't be shy about getting the laughs rolling.

The sustenance: Old-school postwar gourmet. Don't expect cutting edge cuisine here, but I'm not so sure that'd fit the ambiance even if it were. Expect classic dishes cooked well- the boy and I loved the veal t-bone with morels. Steak Dianne and real Dover Sole are other staples. Desserts kept up the retro feel, but a cherry pistachio cake that light and airy never goes out of style. The classics are classics for a reason. Drinks were exceptional- don't miss the cozy walk-in bar as you wait for your table, which is particularly stacked if you're a fan of cognac or scotch.

The price: The food here isn't cheap. You could find cheaper. The quality's legit, though. The experience overall? Well worth it. The dough you part with is worth the bread you get.

The verdict: Take a walk back in time and get a taste of some Mad Man-era gourmet in a damn pleasant setting. There just aren't many places left that do it like The Carriage House, and it's worth experiencing at least once. The dishes may be old school, but I'm not gonna call it dated. For the next generation of foodies, this is new cuisine. Give it a shot and enjoy a mighty tasty bit of history.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rock0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Anniversary Dinner #33 Greg F.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Intimate setting, superb cuisine, staff was engaging and genuinely enjoyable. Atmosphere was highlighted by Floranights which provided a ray of sunshine into unusually brisk Hoosier February. Had an opportunity to talk with the owner who telegraphs her pride for the restaurant. Intend to add this establishment to the "must visit more often" when celebrating events and travelling house guests. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Floranights dining”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We are never disappointed in the Carriage House experience. True, you can dine for less cost in the area. However, you will not find the quality or the ambience any where nearby. From the gracious staff to the dessert, you are made to feel at home and as if you are their friend. The food and atmosphere is comparable to any we have experienced in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1JWT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First and Last visit”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I went to carriage house and I was shocked when our bill came and they charged us 90 for my half lobster. This place has excellent service, but the food is overpriced. There are better restaurants for more than half the price. I was very disappointed and will not be going back. We paid over $200 for coffee, tea, two tiny salads, and two unimpressed entrees. No desert or alcoholic drinks were ordered. I would recommend Cafe Navarre, Lasalle Grill, Roadhouse or Brewster by New Buffalo, Michigan...many other places we should have went instead. That's what you get for trying new places, but it is close to the house and we were hoping for more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreaMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyoody, Owner at Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for trying The Carriage House Dining Room.  From time to time we receive similar reviews which mention the prices of some of our elite items, such as our 4 pound Maine Lobsters which no other fine dining restaurant in the country serves.

A couple things.  It is not our policy to question whether our customers can afford the items they order.  In this case you ordered the most expensive Main Course on a weekend (Valentine's) when we were selling luxury items for guests who wanted to celebrate in that manner.  Also, The Carriage House has the most varied selection of all fine dining establishments in the country - in price only,  not quality which is second to none.

This applies to everything we offer.  One can order a $30.00 or a $3000.00 bottle of wine.  More choices at more price points does not equate to being expensive.  It equates to VALUE.  A term which is often confused with price (which TRIP ADVISOR has yet to understand and fix).

Also, concerning your recommendations to other restaurants in South Bend area which you are comparing us to, we would like to note that not only are our prices competitive with others on similar courses, but the quality we deliver in every instance is superior in every way.  Remember, we brought fine-dining to South Bend.  Everything else afterward has been a cheaper copy of what we have been doing superbly since 1975.

Lastly, we wish you would have talked to us first rather than give us an average review right off the bat.  How can anything be resolved appropriately in this manner?  As an Independent and small family business, we take these matters extremely personal and to heart.  After 40 years of service to the South Bend community, we see that your Review is quite unfortunate.

Adrian Cote/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Carriage House Dining Room & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing